1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Command Center 2017 - Got Power?

Discussion in 'How is my display put together...' started by uncledan, Oct 18, 2017.

  1. uncledan

    uncledan Apprentice Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Buellton California
    I decided when I was setting up my display for 2016 I needed to clean up some of my cluster for 2017. Primarily replacing close to 30 CG1500's with controllers, 30+ psus, power distro boards etc. It was a mess... I purchased a 30"x48"x16" enclosure to house all the psu's needed to power a large portion of my display. We will see how things work out.. but my idea was to add three Meanwell RSP3000-12 and run in parallel with the current sharing feature they offer. These three psus will be powering a 3,528 12v node matrix, 5,280 12v node Mega and about half of my 58 mini trees(2900 12v nodes). (4) Meanwell RSP3000-12, (5) Meanwell RSP320-12, Raspberry pi, switch, (2) F16v3 and some power distro boards are currently in the enclosure. Its still a work in progress and will add pics of updates as things progress. A 100amp 240 volt Subpanel is mounted to the side of the enclosure to power everything. Dedicated 20a 240v circuit for each RSP3000
     

    Attached Files:

    QldKing(Brad) likes this.
  2. OP
    OP
    uncledan

    uncledan Apprentice Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Buellton California
    This came up in chat. Thought I would share. I attached some F8 distros to the side of my psus to try to make things more compact. Lots of screws on the side of the psu that can be replaced with standoffs. Plus the two M4 female threads that are meant for mounting psu on its side. Saves space in enclosure! Photo Oct 24, 9 40 01 PM.jpg
     
    OzAz and QldKing(Brad) like this.
  3. marmalade

    marmalade cats & pixels

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    newcastle
    Looks neat but the exposed AC terminals are completely dangerous. In fact Meanwell has a note about using these psu's on their website in this fashion.
    To make matters worse, your cables are obscuring the active terminal so it's not immediately evident that there may be live mains behind them. RCD's are not enough to protect you either.
    Happy to take heat for this comment, but have seen quite a few dangerous installations on FB, but if it saves someones life then it's worth it.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    uncledan

    uncledan Apprentice Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Buellton California
    Not going to get any heat from me. I'm all for constructive criticism and making things safer. If you wouldn't mind clarifying what is so unsafe? There are no live mains when anyone is in the enclosure and I'm the only one in it. I don't see anything different than most people do in this hobby. Thanks for the reply!
     
  5. Kitman

    Kitman Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Munno Para
    I believe that Marmalade is referring to the fact that there is no cover over the 240v input and 12v/5v output on those meanwell power supplies. All it takes is a slip of the hand or metal tool and you are bridging across live and neutral 240v input, leading to injury or death.

    All 240V connections need to be adequately covered to avoid any accidental bridging or touching of the connectors. Personally I hate all of these types of power supplies and would prefer all of the 240v to be hidden behind and IEC type connector so there is no way of touching the 240v connections just like a normal PC power supply, however this is what the industry uses so we have to respect it and be aware of the dangers.
     
    marmalade likes this.
  6. OP
    OP
    uncledan

    uncledan Apprentice Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Buellton California
    Thanks for the clarification. That was the only conclusion I could come up with but not what I have seen dealing with high voltage panels here in the USA on a daily basis for the last 20 years. Not a bad idea but not something that even crossed my mind. I fully understand, respect and am aware of the dangers of 240v AC. That's one reason all AC power is only in enclosures in my backyard or in the garage. No AC power out in my display at all for safety reasons
     
  7. marmalade

    marmalade cats & pixels

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    newcastle
    It's great that you're not on the defensive Dan. Kit is 100% correct.

    In the enclosures we design at work (mining industry) access to AC terminals by either tools nor fingers isn't allowed unless at least two safety protocols have been purposely removed (be it a cover, insulation, lock or lockout device). And pretty much all the wiring is run in cable ducting to ensure terminals are visible and not obscured. Even then we still have the occasional incident where an experienced tech will zap themselves whilst testing (most always a repair to someone elses product), so you need to do everything possible to minimise that risk.

    Admire your efforts in squeezing in all those supplies into that hoffy though. Have you got a few dedicated circuits in your home to feed it?
     
  8. OP
    OP
    uncledan

    uncledan Apprentice Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Buellton California
    I'm in the water well industry. Lockout device is all that's generally used here. Even with Government/Municipal work. No such thing as too much safety when it comes to electricity though. A few more safety protocols would've saved me from a few zaps over the years. ;) There are (5) 240 volt circuits that feed the enclosure. Thanks for your input.
     
  9. bluzervic

    bluzervic 65,768 Channels, 185 Universes

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Fremont, Calif.
    Find Me On:
    Dan, Can you post up a PIC of those boxes and maybe a PIC of your Mondo PSU unit you built
     
  10. bluzervic

    bluzervic 65,768 Channels, 185 Universes

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Fremont, Calif.
    Find Me On:
    Oops, maybe I should read the post 1st o_O
     
  11. OP
    OP
    uncledan

    uncledan Apprentice Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Buellton California
    Here's a bigger pic so you don't have to get your glasses out Bluzer. Added an RSP320-24 and some data and power distribution since last pic. Slowly coming together Photo Oct 25, 11 02 37 PM.jpg
     
  12. bluzervic

    bluzervic 65,768 Channels, 185 Universes

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Fremont, Calif.
    Find Me On:
    I definitely want to keep my fingers out of your box :cautious:
    Nice job though. Maybe we can work out a deal, you make my PSU box for my Matrix, I do your network.
     

Share This Page