1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Computer Power Supplies re-used for displays

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by oldmanfathertime1000, Mar 1, 2013.

  1. oldmanfathertime1000

    oldmanfathertime1000 Computers, music, audio, video, electronics

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Arthur, Louisiana
    Most all of us have some old junked computers or can get some. The power supply in it may be able to be converted for Blinky use.
    I have used them for 2 years so far & have had no problems yet from them.
    It does require some effort to convert them but it may be good enough to save you some money.
    The very early XT ones are not worth the effort. I have found that maybe one out of 5 will work correctly.
    The ATX ones will work great however. Every ATX one I converted has worked ok.
    I only did the 12volt & 5volt connections. I had no need for the other voltages.
    Each one cost me about $8 in parts from radio shack.

    Link:

    http://www.wikihow.com/Convert-a-Computer-ATX-Power-Supply-to-a-Lab-Power-Supply
     
  2. ԆцряєсϮ

    ԆцряєсϮ Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Botanic Ridge
    Find Me On:
    Heh heh timely post
    I just converted 3 old ATX supplies I had out back last week.
    Theyre destined for 2013 show :)
     
  3. remoteutah

    remoteutah Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grand Junction, Colorado - USA
    I thought I would toss this in for anyone who didn't know. Any ATX computer power supply can be made to "work" without a motherboard attached by simply connecting the green wire on the 20/24 pin connector to ANY black wire on the same connector. This can be done via insulated jumper or by simply cutting and spicing both wires together. If you put a switch between the 2 connections, you will have a power switch for the supply.
     
  4. DanoNJ

    DanoNJ Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Monroe Twp., NJ
    I do the same with grounding out the green wire. I have several of these units through out the yard powering my motorized props as well as landscape lights I use for spot lights.
     
  5. jerrymac

    jerrymac Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quitman GA
    Find Me On:
  6. elvatrdude

    elvatrdude One can never have too many hobbies.....

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tracy, Ca.
    Find Me On:
    OMFT, excellent idea. Saved me from spending $200 on lab PSU's, plus if one fails during the "season" another can be procured just about anywhere-quickly. Also solved the problem of finding a dual voltage PSU with enough current capacity. Thanks :)
     
  7. Binkles

    Binkles Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Baldivis
    Find Me On:
    Yeah, I'm loving using a computer power supply. I have set up a box with 12v out one side, and 5v out the other.

    Built a switch in the side for power on and off, and bingo.

    Love that they are easy accessible.
     
  8. rvenegas

    rvenegas Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Valencia
    Find Me On:
    I`m doing the same, although I ordered 2 power supply from China with Ray, I decided to use some ATX power supply I got for power injection. I just made some modifications replacing the cables from the board to the light's connectors to increase the current without any problem such as overheating or short circuit. Also I installed a switch to turn it on and off without opening the box (oohh, I forgot to say, I installed it inside of a plastic box water proof.)
     

Share This Page