Demystifying power injection for a newbie

ievolve

New elf
Hey Guys, total newbie here. Trying to learn as much as possible and wrap my head around this stuff.

With regards to power injection, I have seem videos online demonstrating what happens when you do not have sufficient power to feed the strand, IE, dim/nonfunctional lights on the end of the chain.

I have also seen it mentioned that you should plan on power injection every 40 to 70 pixels.

Here is where I am drawing a disconnect. I found a cool 5m of strip lights, problem is there are 300 pixels on the strip. If my math is right, I would need to inject power about 6 or 7 different places along that 5m strip?? Seems pretty excessive. I know there is something I must be missing because I have seen videos of people plugging that whole reel in without any troubles (or power injection) Can some clarify this for me?

FYI, I've got my eye on the SanDevices E682 package that has the power supply and everything, hoping to make my first jump into this stuff as pain free and expandable as possible. But the thought of having to re-inject power every meter has me scared. At that rate I'd have more power lines than lights!

AAH

I love blinky lights :)
Community project designer
Have you got a link to that specific strip as 300 pixels in 5m is a mega high number. Depending on how it is specified and whether it is 5V or 12V strip there can be a number of leds per pixel. As a super general rule of thumb you can get away with 5m of pretty well any strip without needing to do anything. You may need to inject power at the far end if things look a bit pink when all the pixels are on white.

kane

Dedicated elf
I'm guessing it's a 60led/metre strip, like this one:
http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/4m-WS2811-LED-digital-strip-60leds-m-with-60pcs-WS2811-built-in-the-5050-smd-rgb/701799_638374848.html