1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Distance between Controller and 2811 strip

Discussion in 'RGB Lights - Intelligent Pixels and 3-Channel RGB' started by marsh28, Feb 20, 2014.

  1. marsh28

    marsh28 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am using a ECG P-12 for 2811 strips. The 12 outputs are split between two separate 350W power supplies. One of the power supplies will control six outputs connected to six separate strips connected to my house. The second power supply will control 4 outlets controlling 4 cut up vertical 2811 strips on a fence. These 4 strips will be at least 40 feet from the Power supply and controller. I know I'll likely need to inject power to overcome voltage loss, however, how do I ensure the data signal does not degrade as it travels the 40 feet from the controller to each of the four strips? Will I need to add null pixels? How many would be needed?
     
  2. ԆцряєсϮ

    ԆцряєсϮ Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Botanic Ridge
    Find Me On:
    Everyones setups are different as size and type of wire used along with how and where the cable is run will have an effect. With my setup I need to add a null pixel for anything over about 4.5 mtrs which is about 15' so for yours I would allow 3 nulls spaced evenly along the run.
     
  3. DanJ

    DanJ Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Last Christmas was my first time to sequence and to go RGB. I had problems with the "second" arch in series (furthest from power/signal) that I thought was due to my lack of soldering capabilities. After the fact I figured it was more probably due to signal cable length (which was on the order of 30' or so) without null pixels, as I didn't really see any physical problems with the soldering or any signal differences. I had used WS2811 strips running at 5V. You can always "breadboard" your setup and figure out at what distances you will need null pixels, but there is probably enough info right here on this site that you don't really have to "experiment"..
     
  4. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    If you use heavy cable from the power supply to the 1st pixel it is entirely possible you can get away with 30 ft. I ran about 20ft with my pixel modules and had no issues. You do need to ensure that you are applying injection regularly as voltage drop will kill the data potentially before you notice any changes to pink or any other voltage related issues. I didn't use any cable under 1mm2 for injection. The further away from the power supply I got the heavier the cable I used.
     
  5. Trafficman

    Trafficman Teach Me!!!

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pensacola, Florida
    2811 using 18/4 stranded and 18 feet was the most I could go without a null being added. This was a j1sys p12s card brand new.

    Jeff
     
  6. logandc99

    logandc99 Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    5
    Find Me On:
    I managed just over 6m ( just over 20ft) last Xmas to a few of my 2811 strips but any further and things just went wacky. Used the standard 6m cables that Ray supplies plus pigtails either end.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    marsh28

    marsh28 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank for the info everyone. Would it be more cost effective to simply buy a ECG P2 to control the pixels on the fence since I won't need to inject power or use null pixels?
     
  8. mborg10

    mborg10 Michael Borg

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    claremont meadows
    I like the P2 for running long runs as you can get 4 universes from one output. They are cheap also. The p12 is good for things like mega trees matrixes or where things start close to each other.
    I'd definitely look at a p2 but don't think you can avoid power injection that easy. It's just a way of life with pixels. The p2 doesn't have fuses for the outputs either so you will have to add one of those. P2 is definitely one of the cheapest controllers $/pixel you can buy.
     
  9. Boof63

    Boof63 Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Kadina
    Do the null bit and just add into your elements list of pixels and leave it blank for the sequence. this way it appears to work as the P2 doesn't handle nulls unless they are the first pixels in the line, ie 1st universe will work ,but after that p2 wont pick them up as nulls even if you allocate in the software setup for the p2.
    cheers Boof63
     

Share This Page