E1.31 controller with storage

Discussion in 'EthConGateway by Joshua 1 Systems' started by Madko, Sep 15, 2013.

  1. Madko

    Madko Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castle Hill NSW
    Hey Guys,

    Is there a controller that has onboard storage so you can download your software and sequence and run it directly without having a computer connected?


    Cheers
     
  2. DeeJai

    DeeJai Is that Magic Smoke?!?

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    No longer in Radelaide
    i may be wrong, but im fairly certain that the Minleon controllers have this ability, to store it on an SD card and run from there. Perhaps check out eddy's site. www.minleonausnz.com

    he has the controllers on there
     
  3. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
  4. Habbosrus

    Habbosrus New house (again) 2017

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Swansea, NSW
    Find Me On:
    I bought a Pi with the intention of doing just that. I purchased my Pi from Element14 and it was delivered next day. HLSIdata can be converted via Nutcracker into the Pi format to be played with the Falcon Pi Player.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Madko

    Madko Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castle Hill NSW
    Hey guys,


    Thinking of purchasing the below items. Running HLS. Is this all I need to be running directly from an SD card?


    1. Raspberry PI model B with 8G SD card $53.90
    2. Raspberry PI clear case $9.79


    Both purchases from Element14


    Once I have this I can use the Falcon PI player software to run my HLS sequence which can be converted using nutcracker?


    Am I on the right track?


    Cheers
     
  6. neilric99

    neilric99 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irvine, the OC, CA
    Find Me On:
    You will need a usb flash drive as well to store your sequences and media. the SD card is best to only have your programs and OS on it.


    The Raspberry PI comes with a cat5 ethernet and some of us also use a wireless card so that we can connect to it remotely.


    see this post on falconchristmas for more detail of what is needed.


    http://falconchristmas.com/forum/index.php/topic,200.0.html
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Madko

    Madko Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castle Hill NSW
    Thanks for the info!


    Is a RasClock used for scheduling you sequences to play at a certain time? For example 8pm every night?
    If I also purchased the wireless dongle would I also need to purchase the RasClock board? Wireless dongle could connect to the net as well as having the advantage of wireless connection? Is this correct?


    Cheers
     
  8. neilric99

    neilric99 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irvine, the OC, CA
    Find Me On:
    The Raspberry Pi does not include any form of clock on board in hardware, There is a 3rd party solution for this called RASCLOCK module which is a hardware realtime clock and is needed if you cannot get the time from the network when the PI starts up.

    The RASCLOCK can be purchased from http://afterthoughtsoftware.com/products/rasclock

    another great resource for Pi hardware is http://adafruit.com
     
  9. OP
    OP
    Madko

    Madko Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castle Hill NSW
    If i used a timer on the Raspberry power supply to switch it on and off, each time i switched it on, would it just start up and start playing my sequence or does it need that Rasclock.
    What are other alternatives?
    Thanks
     
  10. kane

    kane Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Trigg (Northern suburbs of Perth)
    Find Me On:
    From what I know, the only reason you need to add the rasclock is if you are running in full standalone mode, where your Rpi can't access an NTP server on the Internet to set it's time. So as long as the Rpi is on your network (either wired or wireless), then you should be fine..
     

Share This Page