F16v3 and CMB16 v4 Controller

Renzo1975

New elf
Hi All,

I've been running a show for the last 4 yrs with xlights (F16v3 and FPP) and have found a LOR board (CMB16 v4).
I know how to connect it to the f16v3 but do not know how to configure it to turn on and off some dumb. floods and RGB lights my inlaw got me from Bunnings lol.
Apparently I need a USB thing to connect to my PC to either update or get some settings done before I do it, although I've read I can set it up through xlights as well.
I initially set a switch to show LOR and the status light was just red, showing apparently connected, but when I go to xlights to add a controller, it doesn't know what to add and there are no options for my stupid board lol.
I'm usually good with this thing but just want it to work without having to buy some $50 adapter for a quick config lol..
Happy for a DM or chat or reply here if someone is available to explain it like I'm 5 lol..
Hard to ask for help but it gets to the stage where I'm ready to toss it lol...

Thank you.

Regards,
Renzo.

merryoncherry

Senior elf
You probably don't need to do any config if you are only running one. They have a "Unit ID" which typically correlates with the base DMX addresss, 1->1, 2->17, 3->33, etc. Unless you got one used and someone set the unit ID to something other than 1, you should be able to move the jumpers on the falcon to LoR (sounds like you already did this if you have link?), plug it in, and it would respond to DMX over channel 1-16, one dim value per channel. Putting On/Off effects on those 16 channels ought to just do it.

I suppose if you have an old LoR you have to update the firmware, but it has been many years since they made one without DMX support.

Renzo1975

New elf
Hi.