Falcon FPP install onto a Raspberry Pi2 model B

Status
Not open for further replies.

AussiePhil

Dedicated elf
Administrator
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
1,386
Location
Canberra, ACT, Australia
Want to get a Pi 2 B setup with FPP, here's the steps i went through tonight and is certainly current only at this time, future changes to the fpp install scripts may make this out of date.


I've pulled the following together from a number of different pages and it's what worked for me.




Download Raspbian Debian from https://www.raspberrypi.org/downloads/ the torrent is far quicker


Download Win32diskimager from http://sourceforge.net/projects/win32diskimager/


Use win32 diskimager to write the raspbian image to a micro SD card. I recommend a fast card of at least 8Gb size, i used a 16Gb.


The following is lifted from http://falconchristmas.com/wiki/index.php/Falcon_FPP_BBB and modified for the Pi2


Take your Pi2 out of the box.
Connect a network cable.
Insert the microSD card you just imaged into your Pi2.
Insert USB Flash drive.
If you have a HDMI cable you can connect it to an HDMI monitor so you can view the boot process. highly recommended but not required
Connect the power to your Pi2 and be patient.


After the unit has completed it's boot up you should be able to log into it via a terminal program like Putty. You should be able to connect to the dhcp assigned IP. The default login is pi with password:raspberry.


Next you should grow the partition.


Taken from http://elinux.org/RPi_Resize_Flash_Partitions#Manually_resizing_the_SD_card_on_Raspberry_Pi
Manually resizing the SD card on Raspberry Pi
You can also resize the partitions of the SD card that your Pi is running on.


First you need to change the partition table with fdisk. You need to remove the existing partition entries and then create a single new partition than takes the whole free space of the disk. This will only change the partition table, not the partitions data on disk. The start of the new partition needs to be aligned with the old partition!


Start fdisk:


sudo fdisk /dev/mmcblk0
Then delete partitions with d and create a new with n. You can view the existing table with p.


p to see the current start of the main partition
d, 3 to delete the swap partition
d, 2 to delete the main partition
n p 2 to create a new primary partition, next you need to enter the start of the old main partition and then the size (enter for complete SD card). The main partition on the Debian image from 2012-04-19 starts at 157696, but the start of your partition might be different. Check the p output!
w write the new partition table
Now you need to reboot:


sudo shutdown -r now
After the reboot you need to resize the filesystem on the partition. The resize2fs command will resize your filesystem to the new size from the changed partition table.


sudo resize2fs /dev/mmcblk0p2
This will take a few minutes, depending on the size and speed of your SD card.


When it is done, you can check the new size with:


df -h
-----------------------
Now you can run the FPP install


log in to the Pi2 using the Pi logon and run the following


wget -O ./FPP_Install.sh https://raw.githubusercontent.com/FalconChristmas/fpp/master/SD/FPP_Install.sh
chmod 700 ./FPP_Install.sh
sudo ./FPP_Install.sh


Sit back and be patient


Follow the instructions at the end for rebooting and you should have a working FPP on Pi2
 

gerry

Senior elf
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
Messages
813
Location
Surrey Hills,Melbourne
Thanks for this Phil !

This is really useful and I was waiting till the Sydney mini to ask.

Where did you/do you buy the hardware from if located in Australia ?
 

AussiePhil

Dedicated elf
Administrator
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
1,386
Location
Canberra, ACT, Australia

gerry

Senior elf
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
Messages
813
Location
Surrey Hills,Melbourne
AussiePhil said:
gerry said:
Thanks for this Phil !

This is really useful and I was waiting till the Sydney mini to ask.

Where did you/do you buy the hardware from if located in Australia ?
I think I bought from here
http://www.wiltronics.com.au/catalogue/201994/raspberry-pi/raspberry-pi-and-accessories/raspberry-pi/raspberry-pi-2-model-b-1024mb-ram

You can also buy from
https://www.gpio.com.au/shop/raspberry-pi-2-model-b/raspberry-pi-2-starter-kit/

Or element 14
Thank you !
 

smeighan

Dedicated elf
Joined
Jan 19, 2012
Messages
1,109
Location
4217 Greenfinch Dr CO 80126
Note from Phil: Sean's link and instructions explicitly apply to the Original Pi including Model B.... This thread however currently applies to the Pi Version 2 Model B that does not yet have a fpp image and fpp must be installed via the install script.

Please follow the below information for Original Pi Model B


Phil; when i setup my FPP's, i followed the instructions here
http://falconchristmas.com/forum/index.php/topic,483.0.html


I have a usb flash card (32gb) and a sd card (8gb).


1) On my windows machine i plug in the sd card and run SDFormatter and choose
Set "FORMAT SIZE ADJUSTMENT" option to "ON" in the "Options" menu
Set "FORMAT SIZE ADJUSTMENT" option to "ON" in the "Options" menu


3) I unzip this download onto the newly formatted sd card.


4) Plug in the empty usb flash and boot up the pi.


That is the installation process
1) format the sd card using sdformatter
2) Unzip the downloaded noobs/fpp software onto sd card/


on first power up it takes a few minutes. i plug a monitor into the hdmi port to see what the ip address is that is assigned at bootup. I then go to that ip address in my chrome browser. In my case the ip of my pi was 10.0.0.4
At bootup time a voice will announce the i[p address assigned, i like to see what is happening so i plug in the monitor.


i never run putty (although i have in the past)


thanks
sean
 

scamper

Dedicated elf
Joined
Jan 5, 2014
Messages
1,092
Location
collie
Dumb question here... But here goes anyway.
If the Raspberry Pi 2 was meant to be backwards compatible, then why does the original image not work? ???
Be nice now.
 

AussiePhil

Dedicated elf
Administrator
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
1,386
Location
Canberra, ACT, Australia
scamper said:
Dumb question here... But here goes anyway.
If the Raspberry Pi 2 was meant to be backwards compatible, then why does the original image not work? ???
Be nice now.
Based purely on discussions over at Falcon Christmas, some of the core files are different due to the different processor used, which means the prebuild Image file will not work.
adding sugar and donuts to sweeten the reply :)
 

gerry

Senior elf
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
Messages
813
Location
Surrey Hills,Melbourne
scamper said:
Dumb question here... But here goes anyway.
If the Raspberry Pi 2 was meant to be backwards compatible, then why does the original image not work? ???
Be nice now.
Mine not to question why ..mine just to do and ... (to misquote the Charge of the 'Light' Brigade) :)
 

scamper

Dedicated elf
Joined
Jan 5, 2014
Messages
1,092
Location
collie
Thanks, I figured just on the fact you load it as part of the OS it must be integral somehow and not just like installing a program
 

AussiePhil

Dedicated elf
Administrator
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
1,386
Location
Canberra, ACT, Australia
smeighan said:
Sorry Phil, I missed how to install on model 2. My description works for model B,B+. In a month or so it will also work on the model 2, just not yet.
No worries Sean, it's actually relatively painless if you follow the steps.. the image will just make it even easier.

Cheers
Phil
 

gerry

Senior elf
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
Messages
813
Location
Surrey Hills,Melbourne
Hi all,

I ordered my Pi , power unit and case from rs (Scampers link above) - thanks Scamper.
It arrived in 2 days and following Phil's instructions , I was able to set it up relatively painlessly and all in one evening.
BTW - I formatted a 'normal' SD card in preparation and then discovered that this model uses a 'micro' card.
No matter - cannibalized the one from my phone (as it was Friday evening and I was not going to wait for the shops to open on Sat) and initialized and installed the image on it.

I connected the PI to my router during the install process and also , connected a monitor using the HDML cable . I was most reassured to see the various messages flashing by on the screen as the install process executed.
(I also decided to connect a keyboard and mouse for the install, though I had downloaded putty and read up about it as well).
The monitor also showed me what IP address had been selected.
After getting the initial Falcon screen (which is the first time I had seen it) and feeling very pleased with myself , I had the 'what now' feeling ? Especially - how do I shut down this thing ?

I found the following video most useful for the next steps
https://vimeo.com/77589618

Am now configuring the output channels ....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top