First timer from SE-Melbourne

chee5eburger

New elf
Hi everyone
Decided to move on from static lights this year and try out a simple pixel display with the intention of going bigger in the future.
Starting completely from scratch, but I'm confident software-wise and a complete beginner with the hardware/electrical side of things.

Wish me luck!

Johnnyboy

Full time elf
Welcome and enjoy the journey.
Lots of useful threads and the 101 guide is a must read for a overall initial understanding.

Snicko

Apprentice elf
Welcome aboard
Another one here from 3977

The ACL group is a great place to start, and a mini is a near 2nd!

There is a decent community tin the SE of Melb with lots of knowledge, ideas & creativity

AAH

I love blinky lights :)
Community project designer
Welcome to ACL. Joining chat and asking questions there is a massive heads up to getting going with pixels or any type of light display.
The ACL101 and the Xlights Zoom room are probably 2nd and 3rd.

chee5eburger

New elf
@chee5eburger - why don’t you walk us through your plans? What are you thinking to put up this year? We can give some guidance on ideas/changes/vendors/etc.

This year I'm just going to line the gutter with led strips and maybe a few small arches.
I don't want to go crazy with a controller than can power the world, but I also don't want to be stuck with something underpowered in future.

I've been looking at the falcon 16v4 "ready to run" to save me learning too much about the electrical side of things for now, and I've got a cheap and nasty pixel strip from amazon because I bought before watching the above video.

Happy to change to anything else that's better suited. I've got a couple of pis lying around, but a hat sounds not worth it from the video?

Also struggling a little with terminology, eg. "universe", "string", etc.
I'm assuming a strip with 50 lights on it is 1 string and 50 pixels?