FPP 4.4 - rPI-28D+ - port 2 not working

Leevi Graham

New elf
Joined
Mar 12, 2019
Messages
8
I had a fully working display which consisted of a mix of 5v strip and 12v pixels. The display was powered by a rasberry pi 3 and a rPI-28 controller.

A week ago I decided to update FPP from v3.3 to the latest which included a full os reinstall.

When I plugged everything back in the 5v lights stopped working.

Thinking it was a software issue I reconfigured everything and tried to run the display testing in FPP. The 12v strings worked as expected the 5v did not.

I then thought the first 5v pixel might have blown so I rewired the power, negative and data to the second pixel… nothing.

I then ran another cable directly from the PiHat output to another strip of pixels… nothing.

The only thing I could think of is that I accidentally plugged one of the 12v power injector pigtails into a 5v which could have somehow made its way back into the piHat and damaged the piHat / Pi?

So I purchased a new rPI-28D+, rewired everything again… double and triple checked… nothing… so it's not the PiHat… could still be the pi tho.

I've checked there is voltage in the 5v strip and it's 5v so power is getting to the strip… just no signal.

Any ideas would be appreciated…

I've attached some screenshots of my FPP config and of the wiring of the PI.
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2020-11-21 at 17.48.28.png
    Screen Shot 2020-11-21 at 17.48.28.png
    806.4 KB · Views: 31
  • IMG_0079.JPG
    IMG_0079.JPG
    538.5 KB · Views: 36
  • IMG_0078.JPG
    IMG_0078.JPG
    498 KB · Views: 29

AAH

I love blinky lights :)
Community project designer
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
4,188
Location
Eaglehawk
"All" pixels use 5V for the data so connecting the data from the 12V pixels to the 5V pixels is fine. As a test I would disconnect the 2 data lines from their plugs and try swapping the data back and forth to see if the problem follows the pixels or the output.
 

Leevi Graham

New elf
Joined
Mar 12, 2019
Messages
8
Thanks for the hint Al.

I ran the tests with power going into each of the 12v and 5v but with different data sources.

End result is:

* 5v lit up when powered by the 5v and with port 1 data
* 12v did not light up when powered by the 12v with port 2 data

Seems like the port 2 data is not working.

Given I've replaced the piHat this must be either the PI or FPP software…

I'm not sure what's more likely…

The issue started when I updated FPP… but I did have to pull apart the setup to get access to the sd card… so there's two variables.

Is there any other way to test the PI by passing FPP?
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0093.jpg
    IMG_0093.jpg
    554.7 KB · Views: 17
  • IMG_0092.jpg
    IMG_0092.jpg
    462.5 KB · Views: 17

AAH

I love blinky lights :)
Community project designer
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
4,188
Location
Eaglehawk
Shoot me a message or email if I haven't come up with any ideas by mid morning Monday. Currently the best I can think of is to disable to Pi Pixel strings and use the script functions to toggle the 2 outputs used for pixels and measure at the pins. They are GPIO18 and GPIO19 and on pins 12 and 35.
 

Leevi Graham

New elf
Joined
Mar 12, 2019
Messages
8
I'm going to check the pins on the board to see if any of the solder is busted or the connections don't look right.

> They are GPIO18 and GPIO19 and on pins 12 and 35.

I should have been more explicit. I'm using a RaspberryPi 3B+. Are the pins the same?
 

AAH

I love blinky lights :)
Community project designer
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
4,188
Location
Eaglehawk
I'm going to check the pins on the board to see if any of the solder is busted or the connections don't look right.

> They are GPIO18 and GPIO19 and on pins 12 and 35.

I should have been more explicit. I'm using a RaspberryPi 3B+. Are the pins the same?
The pins are the same on all Pi's that have the 40 pin headerPi pins.jpg
 

Leevi Graham

New elf
Joined
Mar 12, 2019
Messages
8
> I should have been more explicit. I'm using a RaspberryPi 3B+. Are the pins the same?

I realised that was a dumb question.

Follow up hopefully not as dumb…

Is there are mapping from GPIO 18/19 to port 1/2?

I'll take a stab and say yes… GPIO 18 = Port 1 data, GPIO 19 = Port 2 data?
 

AAH

I love blinky lights :)
Community project designer
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
4,188
Location
Eaglehawk
> I should have been more explicit. I'm using a RaspberryPi 3B+. Are the pins the same?

I realised that was a dumb question.

Follow up hopefully not as dumb…

Is there are mapping from GPIO 18/19 to port 1/2?

I'll take a stab and say yes… GPIO 18 = Port 1 data, GPIO 19 = Port 2 data?
As far as I can remember they are GPIO18=Port1 and GPIO19=Port2. It is subject to the whims of the coders of FPP as there has been changes to the configuration in the past.
Not that you should need it for this problem but I spent a fair bit of time today updating the rpi-28D+ manual. I still have stuff to go in there about power injection and a few other connection options but at least it now has FPP4.x screenshots in there.
 

Leevi Graham

New elf
Joined
Mar 12, 2019
Messages
8
Not that you should need it for this problem but I spent a fair bit of time today updating the rpi-28D+ manual. I still have stuff to go in there about power injection and a few other connection options but at least it now has FPP4.x screenshots in there.

I actually saw it on your site. So far it's very good! I think it will answer most questions new users have.
 

Leevi Graham

New elf
Joined
Mar 12, 2019
Messages
8
Follow up…

Tested GPIO18, GPIO19 with a simple LED / Python script. Everything worked as expected.

Python:
import RPi.GPIO as GPIO
import time
GPIO.setmode(GPIO.BCM)
GPIO.setwarnings(False)
GPIO.setup(18,GPIO.OUT)
GPIO.setup(19,GPIO.OUT)
print "LED on"
GPIO.output(18,GPIO.HIGH)
GPIO.output(19,GPIO.HIGH)
time.sleep(10)
print "LED off"
GPIO.output(18,GPIO.LOW)
GPIO.output(19,GPIO.LOW)
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0163.JPG
    IMG_0163.JPG
    963.7 KB · Views: 3

Leevi Graham

New elf
Joined
Mar 12, 2019
Messages
8
Follow Up…

Adding a button to GPIO.17 toggles the LED's on GPIO18 & GPIO19.

Python:
import RPi.GPIO as GPIO
GPIO.setwarnings(False)
GPIO.setmode(GPIO.BCM)

GPIO.setup(17, GPIO.IN, pull_up_down=GPIO.PUD_DOWN)

GPIO.setup(18, GPIO.OUT)
GPIO.output(18,0)

GPIO.setup(19,GPIO.OUT)
GPIO.output(19,0)

try:

    while True: # Run forever
        if GPIO.input(17) == GPIO.HIGH:
            print("Button pressed")
            GPIO.output(19,1)
            GPIO.output(18,1)
        else :
            print("Button not pressed")
            GPIO.output(19,0)
            GPIO.output(18,0)

except KeyboardInterrupt:
    GPIO.cleanup()
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0165.JPG
    IMG_0165.JPG
    859.2 KB · Views: 6

BAZMick

Full time elf
Generous elf
Joined
Nov 26, 2019
Messages
484
Soon you'll be turning relays on and off controlling the lights in your house! ;)
 
Top