1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Fuses and fire

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by Boof63, Nov 20, 2014.

  1. Boof63

    Boof63 Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Kadina
    Can some one please show actual photos of fuse types used and where they have been placed,
    I understand sizes will vary depending on draw etc.
    reason for this I had my first smoke turn to fire in a module tonite, a little scary. :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[
    1. Fuse types and locations please.
    2 if using two different psu (opposite ends of house - how do I wire up please so I don't cook anything)
    3 if getting power to pix4 and matrix on roof , do I
    a. run 12 volt from psu on ground upto roof and pix 4 & matrix
    b. run 240 volt to pix4 and psu x2 on roof (metal roof)- so its close to matrix
    Cheers and thanks
    Boof63
     
  2. viennaxmas

    viennaxmas New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    In the top right corner you can see an automotive fuse holder with ATC fuses for the low voltage side.

    For next year I am considering adding fuses on the high voltage side as well. At the moment I rely on the panel breaker / GFCI for that but I wanted to at least have something on the low voltage side...
     

    Attached Files:

  3. viennaxmas

    viennaxmas New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    For the question where to place the Power supply: as close as possible to the pix matrix otherwise you will either need super sized cables or you will lose to much voltage
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Boof63

    Boof63 Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Kadina
    Thanks for the photo, I have fuses only for 12 volt to power injection, thanks for tip and product Viennaxmas. as for roof power, understand would need large cable to run from ground level , but is doing that safer than running 240v/10map extension cord across the roof. (could I use same extension cord for 12 volt run -cut off plugs etc?)
    cheers and thanks again
    Boof63
     
  5. AussieDoug

    AussieDoug Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try use a lead long enough so it can run from the roof to an internal power point for the 240v. You want as little distance as possible between 12v supplies & the lights so voltage drop doesn't become an issue.
    Here's another pic. This is 1 meter from my mini trees.
    [​IMG]
     
  6. Habbosrus

    Habbosrus New house (again) 2017

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Swansea, NSW
    Find Me On:
    Wow. There is no way I am posting pics of my setup :-[ . Those are very neat/professional looking.
     
  7. damo1271

    damo1271 Full Time Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Find Me On:
    Same here! My setup looks like spaghetti...
     
  8. gerry

    gerry Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Surrey Hills,Melbourne
    Exactly my thoughts.

    Despite 'cleaning' my setup it still looks like a bit like a teenagers bedroom (no offence meant) compared to the picture posted :)
     
  9. OP
    OP
    Boof63

    Boof63 Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Kadina
    thanks for the pix , really put me to shame fellas, LOL,
    always aspire to better , thanks Boof63
     
  10. damona

    damona Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    5
  11. J

    J New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    north of brisbane
    If i was worried about running 240V on the roof i would supply it with 24 or 36v and use dc-dc voltage converters to drop it down at the modules/controllers.
     
  12. viennaxmas

    viennaxmas New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    @damona - yes, I ordered them in an auto parts shop - about half the price of Amazon...
     

Share This Page