Hello

Chris303

New elf
Hello All

My name is Chris. Im in Brizzy and Im very new to all of this!

Im hoping to make a few props for next xmas, it will be the first time I've tried out Smart LEDs. And with a little luck I hope people here might be willing to help me along the way.

I thought to start off I'ld just get one strip of LEDs to play with using wLED. So I got:

a 5m strip of 150 5V WS2812B RGB
an ESP8266 WIFI controller
some jumper wires.

I saw a you tube vid that made it look fairly simple. It implied I ought to be able to power the strip and ESP from a 5V phone charger into the ESP. And the jumpers from the ESP pins into the +/- and data sockets on the strip. I've checked and double checked the wires are connected correctly.

However, the lights are not turning on. :(. which sucks, because I was soooo excited to get my LEDs today. I got them from BFT Lighting on Amazon. I don't know if they have a good reputatio or not.

So far so bad.

So my first question would be if there is a simple way to determine if my LED strips are duds or not?

I hope someone can help!

Bests

Chris.

oh, and this was the you tube vid. I was following. He makes it all look so easy.

View: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KFtjf5mD6tA

Last edited:
Hi Chris, welcome to ACL.

The 101 Guide is always a great starting point which details heaps of information. https://auschristmaslighting.com/threads/auschristmaslighting-101-manual.1889/

A couple of things:
1. The strip at 150 LEDs is going to need up to 8 amps of power at full brightness; your USB charger wont be able to supply this; however this would only cause issues once illuminating all LEDs.
2. Check the wiring from the ESP to the LEDs is the right way around. There are three wires needed - a positive, negative/ground, and a data wire. The positive and negative would connect across your 5V power supply, and the data would connect to the ESP.