Hi all I'm Ryan

Techie09

New elf
I live in the United States and as a Software developer I have interest in how the Christmas lights work. I'm currently working on developing a small setup.

Backstory:
I've been living in apartments for about 5 years now and they usually hold a best decorated contest around the holidays. (Halloween and Christmas). Its usually something like a $25(USD) gift card.

One year I bought a fiber optic Christmas tree about 1.5 feet tall. I placed it outside on our table with a tablecloth and some boxes wrapped up as presents. my sister-in-law used red and white rope lighting to make "candy cane" rails. We had a few other decorations, but we didn't win best decorated. That was when I had the idea to try to do a light show, but on a doll house.

Project:
Fast forward a few years to now. I am learning a lot already and have a stronger appreciation for the custom audio and sequencing tracks that people develop. I want to try to have some lights setup by Halloween, but not likely. my main goal is to build a 1:12 scale dollhouse and furnish it with Ws2812b LEDs for Christmas. I'm going to try to have 3 songs I've sequenced by then. If it turns out well, I will share my results.

Sounds like a nice project. :)

Welcome to AusChristmasLighting, ask away with any questions you have.

My first thought for a small number of pixels is an ESP82/ESP32 running WLED or a Raspberry Pi.
Cheap pixel controller, flash WLED to it and have a computer run the sequence. Otherwise a Raspberry Pi can run pixels directly and play the sequence (with audio).

Key software constantly mentioned:
  • WLED - Running on an ESP based board. This can run basic programs on it's own or take live data input.
  • FPP (Falcon Pi Player) to run on a Raspberry Pi or BeagbleBone single board computer. This is very powerful for all sorts of things (incl custom scripts).
  • xLights - Go to software to create a sequence to music and xScheduler to run from a computer.