Hi from Minnesota

vman916

New elf
Hi all,

Greetings from the cold white north (especially right now). I am in my 2nd year of doing a light display. I decided to go the professional purchase route initially because I knew as a single father of a toddler (1 yo at the time I made the leap), I only had so much time in the day...but I was also bound and determined to make my neighborhood cool again for Halloween and Christmas.

Started last year with a simple singing pumpkin sitting in the yard and RGB Pixels covering my roof line. It took a lot of time to just get all the channeling up (for the pixels), figure out how to set everything up etc. The vendor provided a circular show using about 10 songs. For Christmas it moved to a singing reindeer and I added a few LED items (their singing faces dummy controllers can also just turn on/off other LED elements, which can add some additional fun).

This year I expanded to RGB across my garages, two faces for each holiday, a stage for the faces to perform on, and some additional LED pieces for Christmas. I also had a more custom show created for Christmas. This year I built a lot of things myself in the prop department, but bit off way more than I should of...so I am happy I am done :)

So why am I hear? Well I really want to take things to the next level, but after spending a lot of $$ with the vendor, the customer service, etc. have left me wanting. I have a lot of bold plans, but feel its probably time I start thinking about taking things over myself. Hence I have started to teach myself and go down the path of figuring out what I would need to do to extend what I have and customize to be my own.

Not really sure which forum to start posting questions and discussions? After looking through a lot of other sites and reading the great 101 document, I have a much better understanding of what I have. I own a web consulting company, so this stuff does not intimidate me, except maybe some of the electrical pieces.