Hi From Port Macquarie

PeterC

New elf
I have never used a forum before so I hope this works.

All

I am not exactly sure what to say so I am just going to ramble on (as I usually do)!

I have been retired now for over 15 years and I now live in Port Macquarie, NSW.

In 2013 I sold my house in Melbourne as it was too difficult for me to maintain after an "incident" I had some two years previously. For those couple of years and the years I have now spent in Port Macquarie I really haven't been able to pick up Christmas lights as even climbing a ladder is a real problem.

Prior to the "incident" I had started to learn electronics and built an antique (by today’s standards) timer based relay driven "display" using standard 240V LED light strings (many of them being the old bulb types [no LEDs]) that were just flashed / dimmed by relay contacts. The "patterns" displayed were just hard wired sequences using an old patch board that drove an array of 10 relays that turned the lights on and off or in my old "non-led strings" would just insert a resistor into the string to fade them down so the bulbs were not de-powered thereby significantly increasing there life. By the way: Yes I know [today] that this was legally questionable!

When I sold the house, I couldn't bring any of the Christmas Light stuff with me, which, with my medical situation, didn't give me much incentive to start again.

I have been looking at lots of the material on this site and my old set up was very primitive indeed but my "love for the lights" was rekindled.

Now for the complicating issue. My past incident created a situation where climbing up ladders etc is a real concern. So preferably everything should be done from the ground plus I certainly am not as fit as I was so it has to be able to be done fairly quickly and without too much weight.