Hi from the other side of the world....

PurpleFalcon

New elf
Hi everyone from South Wales in the UK... totally new to all of this, no experience with electrics or anything but am fairly creative and am looking forward to building up displays over the coming years as I ease into earlyish retirement. Thinking that I might start with a megatree next year (fairly confident that I should leave putting anything on the newly developed house until I have some experience!) and trying to understand where to start. Your 101 manual seems as good a place as any, but anyone else who has just been through all of this, please feel free to comment and focus me based on your own pain... I've ordered a Pi4 to force me to avoid procrastinating but don't yet know what I'm going to put with it.

Appreciate your efforts in putting the manual and forum together. Thanks in advance and hope to be able to see some of the displays you guys n gals are currently working on soon.

scamper

Dedicated elf
Welcome. You are at least on the right path. My first year I started researching and planning at xmas the year before and it made for a fun year. Once you have read the 101 manual a few times (yes it takes a bit to digest) you can at least understand all the lingo and understand what everyone is talking about.
It amazes me that I see people on facebook say they are going to start now and build this and that for this xmas and expect to get it done when they don't even know the difference between a pixel and a power supply.
Anyway, when you get to the point of deciding which path to go, get yourself a string (at least) of pixels, a power supply, a controller and download one of the free sequencing program's and get your first lights to flash in time with a song. From there you will be forever more hooked.
remember in this forum the only dumb question, is the one you don't ask.

PurpleFalcon

New elf