Hmmm, Power..... Not...

Binkles

Full time elf
575_powergrid.jpg

As you can tell, I'm an artist, and photoshop is just a breeze for me :)

Anyways, the red lines are V the black lines are G, orange is data.

Top picture, feed power - all work though of course the power getting low in the middle (will attach a picture shortly).

Bottom picture, there is 3 feeds of power, one at the start, one in the middle, and one at the end. But then I get bright star, and fugged waterfall (will attach picture).

The three power feeds are coming from an old computer psu. They each have different black and red lines from the psu.

The pixels are 5v and there are 144 of them.

With the PSU I can connect 170 12v strip/modules with a feed at the start, and one at the end as well as the 144 pixels.

Suggestions?

I'll also post the connector that I'm using.

Binkles

Full time elf
First pic, power at both ends.

Second pic, power at start, between star and waterfall.

3rd pic, wiring. Left of the pic going to waterfall, right of pic is the power, and the data, I've ensured that the data feed enters via the correct plug.

Mice have been trained well. When two played up and electrocuted themselves, the others learnt pretty quick....

Attachments

• ImageUploadedByTapatalk HD1363179334.107732.jpg
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk HD1363179334.107732.jpg
    69.8 KB · Views: 29
  • ImageUploadedByTapatalk HD1363179499.527643.jpg
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk HD1363179499.527643.jpg
    65.8 KB · Views: 25
  • ImageUploadedByTapatalk HD1363179547.498005.jpg
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk HD1363179547.498005.jpg
    68.4 KB · Views: 29

fasteddy

I have C.L.A.P
Global moderator
This is caused by voltage drop, what is the cable and the length that you are using to supply power to the strips because it may be a case of too small a size cable for the current required which will cause this issue

Binkles

Full time elf