How do i create my own effect?

OldMarty

New elf
Hi all,

I want to create some of my own custom FX for X-lights, but any FX tutorial that i find on youtube only tells me how in insert FX into sequences/shows and that's not what i'm looking for.

I'd like to know how & where i get down to the raw nuts'n'bolts of writing the channel patterns information etc.

I hope this makes sense? ;-)

Thanks in advance.

OldMarty

New elf
Thanks guys,

I'm very new to X-lights and already don't agree with may of the effect styles lol, hence my desire to create my own or at least edit/cut the existing ones to pieces.

I know nothing about shaders, but that's something for me to read up on.

Skymaster

Crazy elf
Global moderator
Generous elf
Be sure to twiddle all the knobs available to you for effects. Simple things like the 'Single Line' effect have great potential when applied to things like sub model groups, rotating the render buffer, and using value curves.
Don't underestimate the power of what's available with the built-in effects.

CargoLights

Apprentice elf
Generous elf
Creating effects in xLights is more art than science. If you want to learn, one of the best ways would be to find a sequence with an effect you find interesting and look at how it was done, then see if you can replicate it. Once you've got a good understanding of how other people use the tools available, you can start to find creative ways to use them yourself.

Adsy

Full time elf
Shaders generally work well with large props or as a whole house effect. As mentioned on the surface it seems limiting, but there are lots of
options with rendering outputs and layering. That said if you want create new effects i'd be interested to see what's cooking :)

brando

Full time elf