how to update p12r firmware

candlelight

New elf
Joined
Feb 4, 2012
Messages
39
Location
Cleveland, Ohio
i'm using a p12r with old firmware, from what I've read I cannot use the UBL to update, is this correct?
can I jump right to v2.7? or is 2.0a meant for my equipment?
either way, how do I update?
currently using this
App Version: 1.1h
Stack Version: v5.31
Build Date: Oct 26 2011 11:49:17
 

harrison0550

Full time elf
Joined
Dec 16, 2011
Messages
190
Location
Chattanooga TN
Andy_Harrison said:
Here is a post I made in the P2 setup sticky above about using the universal boot loader (UBL) to update firmware via USB......



Andy_Harrison said:
Videos by ED at j1sys on the UBL setup. (click the link and it will load) and Video by Phil on the UBL setup.
http://www.j1sys.com/legacy/UBL_Quick.swf

ublecg2 on Vimeo

Download link for the UBL:
http://auschristmaslighting.com/forums/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=2507.0;attach=2472



Those videos are also located here for refrence:
http://auschristmaslighting.com/forums/index.php/topic,2507.0.html

Hope that helps.
https://vimeo.com/46015317
 

candlelight

New elf
Joined
Feb 4, 2012
Messages
39
Location
Cleveland, Ohio
thanks, I watched them both previously, i'll have to watch them again, maybe I missed something because it seems I can't update via Ethernet,
keep getting this message
Please reset device and invoke bootloader
No Response from the device. Operation failed
I can access the j1sys config screen via the ip address, tried rebooting the master on that screen and then hitting connect on the pic32 app but I get the same message
 

candlelight

New elf
Joined
Feb 4, 2012
Messages
39
Location
Cleveland, Ohio
yup, I did that, typed in my ip of 192.168.2.56, clicked enable, left the port at its default, and typed in the password as EthConGwy but same response.. also tried the password blank, but no go...
 

candlelight

New elf
Joined
Feb 4, 2012
Messages
39
Location
Cleveland, Ohio
got it march of 2012... so about a year old..
also tried the usb way, but says no device found
ill reread those posts tonight and try again
 

fasteddy

I have C.L.A.P
Global moderator
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
6,645
Location
Albion Park NSW
You will need to use a picit3 to upload the UBL firmware first. The version you have does not have the UBL firmware and prior to the UBL firmware the only way to update was through using a picit3. So you need to either get a picit3 or find someone who has one who can help.
 

richardd

Full time elf
Generous elf
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
310
Location
Geraldton
I have an old one also and need to upgrade where do I get a picit3 can someone provide me with a URL Cheers
Rich
 
Top