1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

HP server psu breakout boards

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by Cathelest, Feb 27, 2019.

  1. Cathelest

    Cathelest New Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Central Coast
    Find Me On:
    Hi,

    Wondering if anyone uses HP (mine is 1200w) server power supplies, and if so where did you get a breakout board for it?

    Thanks
     
  2. battle79

    battle79 Full Time Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Chirnside Park, Victoria, AU
    I have some that I got from the USA if you are interested. Think they cost me about $22 AU each. Could ship from VIC up to you if your interested.

    Can't seem to find address I ordered from ATM, I'll keep looking and let you know.
     
  3. videoman3857

    videoman3857 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    Glass House Mountains
    Depends on your model PSU.
    E-bay for mine
    Just search Breakout board to suit your model PSU
     
  4. MrX

    MrX New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    I used a HP PSU for my display last year and got a breakout board for it. Problem is the pinout was slight off, despite it saying it was supported. My PSU is 800watt. I believe the 750 and 1200's are the same but my dumb luck had a slightly different layout. I tried hacking the board but gave up and just soldered wires directly onto the edge connector, which worked fine.

    Breakout boards may make things look neat but I am considering not bothering when I expand things this year. The large gauge wire is terminated with crimp connectors and runs into an 80 amp breaker then on to the fuse block. Still easy to swap out, just not as pretty.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Cathelest

    Cathelest New Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Central Coast
    Find Me On:
    Hi MrX , received a breakout board today plugged it on and seems to work, it powers on psu and volt meter on breakout board says 12.3v,

    Haven't tested anything with a multimeter yet but I may have been lucky,

    Will have to test each output to make sure all works and reads right before attaching anything,

    I'm not sure if 12.3 is fine, or if I need to dial it back to 12 somehow, but pretty sure the .3 should be ok?
     
  6. MrX

    MrX New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2018
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    There are quite a few pinouts by the look across the range of HP PSUs but there seems to be a popular one that many conform to. Problem is the specific one I got is only a little bit different to the common standard so it looked like it should work but didn't. Mine runs at 12.3, never thought about dialing it down and it ran the show without any issue with any pixels. By the time the wire ran any length the volts dropped a bit anyway so don't think any pixels saw anything over 12.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Cathelest

    Cathelest New Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Central Coast
    Find Me On:
    MrX, cheers thought same thing, happy progress..
     

Share This Page