Inside a RayWu Waterproof power supply

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by gnarmstr, Jul 31, 2017.

  1. gnarmstr

    gnarmstr Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Karalee
    Well not sure if a photo has been posted before but when I was wiring up a 12V 300W waterproof power supply from RayWu there seemed like a gap in the case where water could get in so I thought I would open it up to see.

    To my surprise it turns out the entire guts is filled with something that is defiantly water sealed and hard. Even has a chassis earth wire coming out and screwed to the chassis.

    I don't think we will have any issues with water ingress.
     

    Attached Files:

    szoka and OzAz like this.
  2. Doctor_007

    Doctor_007 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Toowoomba
    Wow! That's a lot better than the "waterproof" one I bought off him a while back which was completely open on one end, with no conformal coating or lacquer.
     
  3. marmalade

    marmalade cats & pixels

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    newcastle
    Potting resin, we do it for all our intrinsically safe underground mining gear. Works well if the components are thermally rated appropriately and the volume of resin has enough heat dissipation to keep them below that rating when used at full capacity. We actually have a 300W ups which is exactly like that :)
     
    danv likes this.
  4. bluzervic

    bluzervic 65,768 Channels, 185 Universes

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Fremont, Calif.
    Find Me On:
    Usually, you need to mount them fan down, otherwise I would say they are pretty Waterproof. Good to know someone actually looked inside. :cool:
     
  5. Doctor_007

    Doctor_007 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Toowoomba
    Thanks marmalade. Was thinking about some lacquer spray but potting resin might be an option! I won't be using that one outside, was just for testing in workshop to reduce dust ingress but might consider for the ones in the control box for some moisture protection.

    Geoff,
    Do they seem pretty good quality?
     
  6. Doctor_007

    Doctor_007 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Toowoomba
    Found its available at Jay Car:
    https://www.jaycar.com.au/polyurethane-potting-compound/p/NM2016
     
  7. OP
    OP
    gnarmstr

    gnarmstr Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Karalee
    I have used RayWu Waterproof power supplies for two years and only one failed out of over 30.

    I haven't had any issues with the 300W ones and in fact I'm changing all my PS's to 300W ones and putting a single 25A two pin plug on 12V side and 5m or 15M 240V cable in the other. That way all the PS are the same with just two different lengths of AC cable.

    Then Im making up adapter cables for multiple 2 pin RayWu pigtails out to the lights. That way if a PS fails it's a simple swap with a spare and no need to recable or worries about supply size. I will post a pic tonight. Maybe an overkill but hey least if I lose a PS then it will be a 2sec replacement.
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2017
  8. Doctor_007

    Doctor_007 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Toowoomba
    That's sounds like a good idea. I'd prefer to have plugs on everything too for that reason. Keen to see a photo too.
     
  9. the grinch

    the grinch I guess I could use a little social interaction

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    angle vale s.a.
    I must say I we have bought a substantial amount of stuff from ray no problems but now I generally buy from ebay and still no problems . But interestingly I recall a post on falcon xmas lights site few months ago someone visited his factory and posted lots of pics and info was quite interesting ! Shown in this particular post was waterproof testing he has what looks too be approximately 6ft long aquariums filled with water? Lights immersed and running ,! Myself personally not sure if I could trust my own work as am only weather proofing for rain as such . But yes was very impressed !
     
  10. OP
    OP
    gnarmstr

    gnarmstr Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Karalee
    See attached pics on how I am doing my power supplies.

    All supplies will have the 2 pin 25A female plug see here the ebay item. They appear to be of high quality, but this is the first time using them. They fit perfectly over the DC side of the 300W Power Supply and I just solder the 2 Red together and 2 Blacks together then solder to the plug.

    The male 2 pin plug then has any number of raywu pigtail, although 6 fit perfectly with the 18AWG RGB cable from Ray, I just cut the green short as its not needed.

    Image 2 and 3 - I have 6 of these made up for my new mega tree so a total of 6 PS for 36 strings, spread around a 180 tree. Then each string is made the same with 2 x 2 pin Raywu pigtails one for the Power and Ground the other for Data and ground.
    image3.JPG image2.JPG

    Image 1 - Shows a cable from the 25A 2 pin plug to a 6m length of 4.1mm/wire to 3 pigtails, this is run from the bottom of the tree to the megatree star at the top that will have 300 pixel nodes.
    image1.JPG
     
    szoka and Doctor_007 like this.
  11. diyer

    diyer Full Time Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Sunbury
    We use literally 100's of 12v IP68 rated Chinese made LED power supplies every year at work, they are very reliable. If a failure occurs, it is usually because they have been loaded incorrectly.
     

Share This Page