New and inexperienced

Inschy

New elf
Hi all , I am very new at this but looking forward to having something for 2017 As I have very little knowledge and experience I am thinking of going LOR Pro series with built in mp3. Are these easy to use? Can I just plug lights in and go? It says the board is for out in the weather but then the plugs hang out the bottom, wouldn't they need to be out of the weather too? Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Fing

Full time elf
Generous elf
Hi And welcome to the madhouse,

may I suggest that you download and read the 101 manual, then read it again. then plan what you think you need and post it here for some feedback. Chat is always a good place to ask questions.

Most of us don't use LOR as it's way too expensive, we tend to build our own. But having said that don't let me prevent you from buying LOR, just make sure you do your homework first.

https://auschristmaslighting.com/forums/index.php/topic,1889.msg17038.html#msg17038

Cheers
Fing

i13

Dedicated elf
I'd like to suggest avoiding 240V controllers unless your light sets are 240V along their entire length and don't have low voltage plugpacks. An example is party lights. If the plugpacks are heavy with AC output (now uncommon in shops) then they'll probably tolerate being turned on and off. The common lightweight DC ones are not as tolerant and they can have a delay between their input and output.

DC controllers would be the way to go for low voltage light sets but there is some hacking involved which I (and other forum members) can help with. How many wires are there between the 8 function unit and the first LED? This will determine the correct controller type. It can change from year to year in shops.