New and ready to learn

libertyts

New elf
Hey All,

So, I'm pretty new to this. I have been doing Christmas lights for a number of years, but always "dumb" displays with a whole lot of me running around pressing buttons, etc. As much as this may have been amusing to witness every night for weeks on end, I would much prefer to start moving to a properly controlled, programmable setup. I am out in Bungendore (near Canberra) on the main road to Batemans Bay, which means I have perfect positioning and essentially free word-of-mouth advertising.

I have a very small amount of lights at the moment due to a separation at the start of last year, so slowly building up the stocks again. At the moment I am almost purely "fairy" style LED lights. I am going to grab a few more bits and pieces over the next few weeks, but at this stage I will be working with "dumb" lights this year. I am going with a fairly small and simple display this year due to the fact that I have started so late and am still getting back on my feet financially.

Oh, I should mention, I do Systems Integration in IT. So a fair bit of scripting\coding and problem solving. Therefore not afraid of betting my hands "dirty" with the good old bits! :p

What I would love some advice on is what my best options are to proceed from here. I am thinking of using AAH's (Hanson Electonics') PI36 as I quite like the Raspberry PI's, it's reasonably priced and kind of solves a few problems at once. Any opinions either way on this as a "beginner" controller?

I currently can't decide on a power supply... It appears that most of the LED strings, etc around (BigW, Bunnings, etc) are running at 30VDC which is making the search for power supplies difficult and my back pocket is getting quite worried at some of the pricing. Any suggestions on where to look? I don't want to go too budget and risk causing noise or fire, etc. But I also don't want to spend $1,000 on a PSU this year... Should I be reconsidering my lighting options?