1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

NutCracker/xLights Crashing

Discussion in 'xLights (Nutcracker)' started by djohnson1810, Sep 7, 2014.

  1. djohnson1810

    djohnson1810 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi. I am having problems with Nutcracker/Xlights crashing while using the TESTING function of xLights to accomplish a burn in's with my new Technicolor lights from Ray Wu. [SIZE=small]I am using version 3.4.6 of the XLights/Nutcracker. [/SIZE]

    What happens is that I will start to do a burn in of my lights and about 10 minutes into it the lights will stop working. When I try and restart the lights in XLights/Nutcracker it will go to the [SIZE=small]"Not responding screen." It takes a reboot of the computer to get things working again. Usually the second time, Nutcracker/XLights [/SIZE][SIZE=small]will work flawlessly for as long as I run it (even over night). A few days later I will start fresh with some new lights and it [/SIZE][SIZE=small]will crash the first time requiring a reboot.[/SIZE]

    Anyone have this problem?

    My Controller is the PixLite 4.

    My Computer:

    Dell Optiplex 740
    AMD Phenom 9550 Quad Core 2.2 GHz
    4 GB RAM
    64 bit Windows 7 Ultimatae
    ATI Radion HD 4500 Graphics Card

    Any help is appreciated.
     
  2. jcmarksafb

    jcmarksafb Hello from Christopher Creek Arizona

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Christopher Creek Arizona
    Sounds like a conflict somewhere, is xlights the only thing running the lights or do you have a sequencer running at the same time? LOR's com listener needs to be unloaded before you output to lights for example, just a shot in the dark.
    John
     
  3. OP
    OP
    djohnson1810

    djohnson1810 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    No LOR loaded. [​IMG]
    I don't think there is anything else is loaded that will do it but here are the network adapters and com ports.
     
  4. smeighan

    smeighan Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    4217 Greenfinch Dr CO 80126
    i dont see this.nothing has changed in that part of the code for over a year. ill start a test cycle and let it run overnight
     
  5. OP
    OP
    djohnson1810

    djohnson1810 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    May be my computer. Maybe I will try it on my laptop.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    djohnson1810

    djohnson1810 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried it again last night. Same results. Crashed the first time after 10 minutes and after a reboot it ran all night. Have not tried a different computer yet.

    Is there some kind of debug I can run to see what is failing?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  7. smeighan

    smeighan Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    4217 Greenfinch Dr CO 80126
    i cant seem to duplicate this. so can you screen shot your SETUP screen. Is this multicast or unicast?
    when it crashes, can you screen shot the crash screen and post?


    thanks
    sean
     
  8. OP
    OP
    djohnson1810

    djohnson1810 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page