1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

P12 R Power usage

Discussion in 'EthConGateway by Joshua 1 Systems' started by dpavisic, Oct 15, 2014.

  1. dpavisic

    dpavisic Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    I cant find any information on whether it is possible to run multiple P12r units (with only the data connected ie no power to the pixels) daisy chained from a 350w power supply. I don't know how much power the board would consume under this configuration and I was wanting to simply connect up to 6 or 7 of them from the 1 power supply.

    Is this possible or even wise to do?
     
  2. Benschristmaslights

    Benschristmaslights Dedicated Elf Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Elderslie
    Find Me On:
    Danny why would you want to do that??

    each output is fused and really the best way to start the power into your pixels.

    is it to do with your layout?
     
  3. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    You can use a P12R without the power output, instead just connect up like a P2 controller where you only send the data and ground from the controller and then connect the power and tie the grounds together at the lights. The boards themselves will draw very little current in this configuration, so using a 350watt power supply to just drive the boards is a massive overkill as you would only need something like a 5 amp Power supply.
    In fact you can use one voltage for the board and another voltage for the lights in this configuration
     
  4. dale82

    dale82 Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kingaroy
    Personally I don't think that it is wise to have all your eggs in one basket if you get what I mean, Its a personal choice but I run 2 PSU per P12 as I never push my PSU past the 80% mark.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    dpavisic

    dpavisic Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    I thought this way I could minimise the load on the Boards, but I forgot about the board being fused.
     
  6. viennaxmas

    viennaxmas New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    The P12S without pixels uses less than 300 mA... On 5V this would be 1.5 W... So even a 1 Amp PSU would be sufficient.
     

Share This Page