POP! SanDevices E6804 - every time I connect my pixel string, my fuses blow!

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by SallyMarie, Sep 26, 2015.

  1. SallyMarie

    SallyMarie New Elf

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    Find Me On:
    I just put together my brand new E6804 controller board. I was able to locate it on the network and I can see and change all settings! I have it hooked up to a 12V power supply. I have it set to play a test sequence. So Far So Good, right! As soon as I attach the pixel string to any of the ports, POP! I blow a fuse! what am I doing wrong? :(
     
  2. Fing

    Fing Full Time Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Muswellbrook
    Find Me On:
    hi,


    check the simple things first, are the pixels wired up correctly ? double check, are they 12v and not 5v? are they the right type of pixel? and finally do you have too many connected?


    does it blow straight away or only when the sequence is running?


    Cheers
    Fing
     
  3. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    How many pixels are in the string and what rating is the fuse?
    As a rough guide each pixel will draw about 55-60mA so you will need fusing that matches about 18 pixels per Amp. Also confirm that you have the 0V, 12V and data around the right way. If the 12V and data are swapped then there's a good chance that at least the 1st few pixels will have been killed and may now be short circuited.
     
  4. smartalec

    smartalec Im a SmartAlec what can i say! Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,183
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    S.A.
    Find Me On:
    make sure you have the right fuse's in the right spots
     
  5. OP
    OP
    SallyMarie

    SallyMarie New Elf

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    Find Me On:
    Thanks so much! I will take all your advice and check it out!
     
  6. i13

    i13 Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    6
    If you're using 2811 pixels then one thing that might damage them is connecting them to a controller while the controller is powered.
     
  7. edwsmith

    edwsmith New Elf

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    Have you been able to resolve? I am having the same issue. With mine I've been able to run the test pattern on 2812 strips I have. When I switch to the Technicolor 2812 bulbs its blows. Both sets are 12V. I have powered off in between connecting the strands but as soon as it powers up the fuse blows. I've also tried taking it off test mode so its not sending a signal and then switching to test mode and it blows then. I've tried four different Technicolor strands and all blow it - while all the strips run fine. Suggestions?
     
  8. jediknight2

    jediknight2 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Are you sure you're wiring the Technicolor pixels correctly...
     
  9. Bill

    Bill Keep Moving Forward

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Either too many pixels, or bad wiring somewhere. Check all your connection points, and connectors.
     
  10. 1983ss454

    1983ss454 New Elf

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are plugging in the 12v pixels into the powered board? I had some 5v gece's that would do this, took some digging to figure out why. Seems one night when I was tired I swapped the power and ground on one pigtail
     
  11. jediknight2

    jediknight2 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Continuity...check
     
  12. i13

    i13 Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    6
    Are you accidentally letting the wires at the far end of the strings touch together?

    How old are the technicolor pixels? There were previous versions that had issues.
     
  13. gerry

    gerry Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Surrey Hills,Melbourne
    Check the connection wire colors carefully ! And if you are using pigtails of the 1m / 1.5m fully sealed ready made extenders from Ray - check those too.

    I had one (so far) pigtail that had the wires interchanged internally and only finally did I eliminate that as a problem.
    I also had 10 of the ready made fully sealed extenders (out of 20) simply not work ie there was no continuity in one pin in each - different problem to yours - so just saying..
     
  14. OP
    OP
    SallyMarie

    SallyMarie New Elf

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    Find Me On:
    Thank you all for your ideas and comments! SO nice to have such a great community to turn to for information. It turned out even though I was following the wire chart from the web site - my wires were all mixed up. The power and ground were opposite of the wire guides I found on the web for the technicolor bulbs! Once I switched them - They were all good. I'm so relieved. They are brand new this year, and this is my first RGB experiment. So happy to have them working -Thanks again!
     
  15. Goliath

    Goliath New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gracemere
    I found the same thing with the wiring guide, and the three core pigtails. Definitely swapped over.
     

Share This Page