1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Power Capacity of the ECP P12R

Discussion in 'EthConGateway by Joshua 1 Systems' started by JimWright, Jan 28, 2013.

  1. JimWright

    JimWright New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leawood, Kansas
    What is the max working power output for the P12R? I can't find it anywhere. I am going to use it for my new megatree. I will use 2811 strings of 170 nodes each at 12 volts. I will use all 12 outputs. If that is the case I will need 612 watts for the lights plus the board (170 x .3 x 12). That is 51+ amps. Will the P12R handle that amount of current? Question 2: The closest good power supply I can find is the Mean Well SP-750-12. Does anyone have an idea for a less expensive power supply to completely provide power for the above configuration? Thanks. Jim
     
  2. neilric99

    neilric99 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irvine, the OC, CA
    Find Me On:
    the P12R has 2 seperate sides on the output board, so you could use 2 smaller power supplies


    be wary of the rating of the power supplies as that is their peak rating, I normally stay within 70% to be safe. also make sure you carry a spare as they do fail.
     
  3. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,497
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    The P12R has 2 seperate power banks that are protected by a 30 amp fuse on both sides so 51 amps is within this limit. Each output has a 7.5 amp fuse, so you can use 2 strings/strips per output through the P12R, If you wanted a 3rd strip/string per output then you would provide power directly from the power supply, remember you will need power injection anyway.

    So to sum up your power requirements you would require 2 x 400 watt power supplies, one for each bank, I would then also keep a spare
    http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/400W-switch-mode-power-supply-size-215-115-50mm-led-driver-led-power-supply/701799_584050961.html
     
  4. OP
    OP
    JimWright

    JimWright New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leawood, Kansas
    Thank to both of you for the information. I am going with the 2 each 400 watt supplies. Jim W :D
     
  5. bdeditch

    bdeditch Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oroville, California

    What about if I was to use 2 separate 350 watt power supplies, what would I be able to run off of each side if I was using these strips (below)
    If each strip is 7.68 Watts per meter so 7.68 X 5 equals 38.4 Watts per strips. 38.4 X 6 = 230.40 Watts. So an 350 watt power supply I would only be using 66% of it, right?




    http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/5m-led-digital-strip-DC12V-input-WS2811IC-256-scale-10pcs-IC-and-30pcs-5050-SMD-RGB/701799_568458133.html
     
  6. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,497
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    You will be able to run 8 strips per 350 watt power supply using the 85% rule. So a total of 16 strips, but you can control a lot more strip than that if using power injection and additional power supplies.
     
  7. bdeditch

    bdeditch Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oroville, California

    No I think that would be enough, if I have to use more power supplies, I have an extra P12 I might as well put it to use.
     

Share This Page