Power Capacity of the ECP P12R

JimWright

New elf
Joined
Jan 16, 2011
Messages
8
Location
Leawood, Kansas
What is the max working power output for the P12R? I can't find it anywhere. I am going to use it for my new megatree. I will use 2811 strings of 170 nodes each at 12 volts. I will use all 12 outputs. If that is the case I will need 612 watts for the lights plus the board (170 x .3 x 12). That is 51+ amps. Will the P12R handle that amount of current? Question 2: The closest good power supply I can find is the Mean Well SP-750-12. Does anyone have an idea for a less expensive power supply to completely provide power for the above configuration? Thanks. Jim
 

neilric99

Full Time elf
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
295
Location
Irvine, the OC, CA
the P12R has 2 seperate sides on the output board, so you could use 2 smaller power supplies


be wary of the rating of the power supplies as that is their peak rating, I normally stay within 70% to be safe. also make sure you carry a spare as they do fail.
 

fasteddy

I have C.L.A.P
Global moderator
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
6,644
Location
Albion Park NSW
JimWright said:
What is the max working power output for the P12R? I can't find it anywhere. I am going to use it for my new megatree. I will use 2811 strings of 170 nodes each at 12 volts. I will use all 12 outputs. If that is the case I will need 612 watts for the lights plus the board (170 x .3 x 12). That is 51+ amps. Will the P12R handle that amount of current? Question 2: The closest good power supply I can find is the Mean Well SP-750-12. Does anyone have an idea for a less expensive power supply to completely provide power for the above configuration? Thanks. Jim
The P12R has 2 seperate power banks that are protected by a 30 amp fuse on both sides so 51 amps is within this limit. Each output has a 7.5 amp fuse, so you can use 2 strings/strips per output through the P12R, If you wanted a 3rd strip/string per output then you would provide power directly from the power supply, remember you will need power injection anyway.

So to sum up your power requirements you would require 2 x 400 watt power supplies, one for each bank, I would then also keep a spare
http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/400W-switch-mode-power-supply-size-215-115-50mm-led-driver-led-power-supply/701799_584050961.html
 

bdeditch

Full Time elf
Joined
Dec 14, 2011
Messages
200
Location
Oroville, California
ɟɐsʇǝppʎ said:
JimWright said:
What is the max working power output for the P12R? I can't find it anywhere. I am going to use it for my new megatree. I will use 2811 strings of 170 nodes each at 12 volts. I will use all 12 outputs. If that is the case I will need 612 watts for the lights plus the board (170 x .3 x 12). That is 51+ amps. Will the P12R handle that amount of current? Question 2: The closest good power supply I can find is the Mean Well SP-750-12. Does anyone have an idea for a less expensive power supply to completely provide power for the above configuration? Thanks. Jim
The P12R has 2 seperate power banks that are protected by a 30 amp fuse on both sides so 51 amps is within this limit. Each output has a 7.5 amp fuse, so you can use 2 strings/strips per output through the P12R, If you wanted a 3rd strip/string per output then you would provide power directly from the power supply, remember you will need power injection anyway.

So to sum up your power requirements you would require 2 x 400 watt power supplies, one for each bank, I would then also keep a spare
http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/400W-switch-mode-power-supply-size-215-115-50mm-led-driver-led-power-supply/701799_584050961.html

What about if I was to use 2 separate 350 watt power supplies, what would I be able to run off of each side if I was using these strips (below)
If each strip is 7.68 Watts per meter so 7.68 X 5 equals 38.4 Watts per strips. 38.4 X 6 = 230.40 Watts. So an 350 watt power supply I would only be using 66% of it, right?




http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/5m-led-digital-strip-DC12V-input-WS2811IC-256-scale-10pcs-IC-and-30pcs-5050-SMD-RGB/701799_568458133.html
 

fasteddy

I have C.L.A.P
Global moderator
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
6,644
Location
Albion Park NSW
bdeditch said:
ɟɐsʇǝppʎ said:
JimWright said:
What is the max working power output for the P12R? I can't find it anywhere. I am going to use it for my new megatree. I will use 2811 strings of 170 nodes each at 12 volts. I will use all 12 outputs. If that is the case I will need 612 watts for the lights plus the board (170 x .3 x 12). That is 51+ amps. Will the P12R handle that amount of current? Question 2: The closest good power supply I can find is the Mean Well SP-750-12. Does anyone have an idea for a less expensive power supply to completely provide power for the above configuration? Thanks. Jim
The P12R has 2 seperate power banks that are protected by a 30 amp fuse on both sides so 51 amps is within this limit. Each output has a 7.5 amp fuse, so you can use 2 strings/strips per output through the P12R, If you wanted a 3rd strip/string per output then you would provide power directly from the power supply, remember you will need power injection anyway.

So to sum up your power requirements you would require 2 x 400 watt power supplies, one for each bank, I would then also keep a spare
http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/400W-switch-mode-power-supply-size-215-115-50mm-led-driver-led-power-supply/701799_584050961.html

What about if I was to use 2 separate 350 watt power supplies, what would I be able to run off of each side if I was using these strips (below)
If each strip is 7.68 Watts per meter so 7.68 X 5 equals 38.4 Watts per strips. 38.4 X 6 = 230.40 Watts. So an 350 watt power supply I would only be using 66% of it, right?




http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/5m-led-digital-strip-DC12V-input-WS2811IC-256-scale-10pcs-IC-and-30pcs-5050-SMD-RGB/701799_568458133.html
You will be able to run 8 strips per 350 watt power supply using the 85% rule. So a total of 16 strips, but you can control a lot more strip than that if using power injection and additional power supplies.
 

bdeditch

Full Time elf
Joined
Dec 14, 2011
Messages
200
Location
Oroville, California
ɟɐsʇǝppʎ said:
bdeditch said:
ɟɐsʇǝppʎ said:
JimWright said:
What is the max working power output for the P12R? I can't find it anywhere. I am going to use it for my new megatree. I will use 2811 strings of 170 nodes each at 12 volts. I will use all 12 outputs. If that is the case I will need 612 watts for the lights plus the board (170 x .3 x 12). That is 51+ amps. Will the P12R handle that amount of current? Question 2: The closest good power supply I can find is the Mean Well SP-750-12. Does anyone have an idea for a less expensive power supply to completely provide power for the above configuration? Thanks. Jim
The P12R has 2 seperate power banks that are protected by a 30 amp fuse on both sides so 51 amps is within this limit. Each output has a 7.5 amp fuse, so you can use 2 strings/strips per output through the P12R, If you wanted a 3rd strip/string per output then you would provide power directly from the power supply, remember you will need power injection anyway.

So to sum up your power requirements you would require 2 x 400 watt power supplies, one for each bank, I would then also keep a spare
http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/400W-switch-mode-power-supply-size-215-115-50mm-led-driver-led-power-supply/701799_584050961.html

What about if I was to use 2 separate 350 watt power supplies, what would I be able to run off of each side if I was using these strips (below)
If each strip is 7.68 Watts per meter so 7.68 X 5 equals 38.4 Watts per strips. 38.4 X 6 = 230.40 Watts. So an 350 watt power supply I would only be using 66% of it, right?




http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/5m-led-digital-strip-DC12V-input-WS2811IC-256-scale-10pcs-IC-and-30pcs-5050-SMD-RGB/701799_568458133.html
You will be able to run 8 strips per 350 watt power supply using the 85% rule. So a total of 16 strips, but you can control a lot more strip than that if using power injection and additional power supplies.

No I think that would be enough, if I have to use more power supplies, I have an extra P12 I might as well put it to use.
 
Top