Power injection wire - which one?

JordoLights

New elf
Joined
Nov 23, 2020
Messages
19
Location
Penrith, New South Wales
Hi Guys, I've got a spool of 4-core 14/020 security cable stored in the garage. Can I use that as my power injection wire for 5v pixels? Should I do 2 cores for V+ and 2 cores for V-?

Some things to note:
1. Longest power injection run would be around 7 metres.
2. I'm using power injection tees.

Or should I get this instead - https://au.element14.com/pro-elec/pel01059/cable-h05vv-f2-3182y-0-75mm-black/dp/3214089?

Thanks for your suggestions.
 

AAH

I love blinky lights :)
Community project designer
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
3,919
Location
Eaglehawk
Absolutely nothing wrong with using 14/0.2 security cable for power injection. Each of the 4 cores works out to about 0.44mm2 so using 2 cores for -ve and 2 cores for +ve gives you 0.88mm2. The number of pixels effects how far you can go. With 7m you should be good to go unless it's a lot of pixels. You should be injecting at at least both ends (or the centre) of a string of 100 so the current is no issue.
 

JordoLights

New elf
Joined
Nov 23, 2020
Messages
19
Location
Penrith, New South Wales
Absolutely nothing wrong with using 14/0.2 security cable for power injection. Each of the 4 cores works out to about 0.44mm2 so using 2 cores for -ve and 2 cores for +ve gives you 0.88mm2. The number of pixels effects how far you can go. With 7m you should be good to go unless it's a lot of pixels. You should be injecting at at least both ends (or the centre) of a string of 100 so the current is no issue.
Thanks Alan. I'm actually using your 28D+ and Power8 (great products btw 👍🏼) to run around 450 pixels @ 30% using 1 output. And I'm power injecting every 100 pixels. I'll use the security cable I have for my power injection runs and save some myself buying more cable.
 
  • Like
Reactions: AAH

AussiePhil

Dedicated elf
Administrator
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
1,442
Location
Canberra, ACT, Australia
Let me agree with Alan and add another way to work it out.

Each wire in the 4-core is 14x0.20 so a pair will be 28x0.20
7.5A figure 8 is 24x0.20
10A figure 8 is 32x0.20
so you end up half way between those, this is fine
 

JordoLights

New elf
Joined
Nov 23, 2020
Messages
19
Location
Penrith, New South Wales
Let me agree with Alan and add another way to work it out.

Each wire in the 4-core is 14x0.20 so a pair will be 28x0.20
7.5A figure 8 is 24x0.20
10A figure 8 is 32x0.20
so you end up half way between those, this is fine
Thanks. I'm glad I can ask these questions in this forum and get good answers back. You guys really helped me a lot. 👍🏼
 

djgra79

My name is Graham & I love flashing lights!
Global moderator
Generous elf
Joined
Dec 27, 2011
Messages
1,789
Location
Cranbourne West
I use 4core cable pretty much for everything DC powered.
For data cables I use 1x core Pos+, 1x core Data, 2x core Neg/Gnd
For power injection, 2x cores Pos+, 2x cores neg/gnd
 
Top