1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Power supply's

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by Madko, Dec 31, 2012.

  1. Madko

    Madko Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castle Hill NSW
    Hey all,
    I'm stuck on deciding between which power supplies to get. Do I buy 3 or 4 of the Chinese made one or spend the same amount and only get one of the better quality? Still needing to get more then 1 anyway.
    My main question I guess is how many people on this forum are using the Chinese made ones that have failed in the past? If they have failed, has it become a dangerous situation eg. Bang/smoke.
    All my power circuit supplied from the switch board is on its own RCD circuit breaker.


    Cheers and Happy NYE!
     
  2. DougieB

    DougieB Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gladstone, Qld
    First question before you buy any is how much power do you need, work out total current requirements and add 15% to get an idea of the power supplies required before you purchase anything
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Madko

    Madko Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castle Hill NSW
    Thanks probably really good to know. Which I haven't worked out yet.


    Is this because the higher the current requirements then best to get the better quality?
     
  4. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    I use both good quality meanwells and Rays Chinese ones, i use the meanwells where i have limited space between the controller and the power supply. If using the chinese ones always have a spare. I have seen these go bang and let out the magic smoke a couple of times
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Madko

    Madko Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castle Hill NSW
    Just to add, I was thinking of just running all 350 watt supplies. Reason being, so I'm not limited on the supply when I want to expand! Everyone knows this is going to happen once the bugs bites! Maybe it has already bitten! I don't want to have re purchase bigger supplies when this happens!
     
  6. DougieB

    DougieB Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gladstone, Qld
    I am like Eddy, have a mixture of MW and chinese (some with MW stickers). Always keep a spare of each voltage (5, 12, 24 and 27). I have all 350 watt PS's
     

Share This Page