Problem with Show Startup in LOR 3.8

Discussion in 'LOR General Discussion' started by bob_moody, Nov 25, 2012.

  1. bob_moody

    bob_moody Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Huntsville, TX
    Find Me On:
    I have the following devices running off my laptop (Dell Inspiron 1300 - Windows XP).
    USB to Serial - LOR Dongle
    USB to Serial - CM11A Controller
    Onboard Ethernet NIC - E1.31 J1Sys D2
    Onboard Wireless NIC - Connected to Internet

    At 6:00PM the show starts. It gets to the "INITIALIZE X10" and locks up. The LOR Status windows goes to "Not Responding" and thats where it sits.
    If I reboot the laptop, everything starts up and my X10-Startup sequence runs which sends 30 seconds of X10 ON commands out on channel C1 and using a Windows Command, FTP's a set of commands to update the show status on my website. Then the misical sequence part of the show starts and everything runs fine for the night.

    I need to add that once the LOR Status page locks up, I cannot shut down with the Start button or using the Shutdown -r -t 0 command. I have to hold power and force it off then restart.

    It did excactly the same thing last night and at the end of the show, it did run the X10-Shutdown sequence which does the opposite of Startup BUT .. it didnt fire off the Windows command to update the web page that show was off.

    I did open and reload the windows command which recreated the cmdmap.lcm file. I verified the command keys matched those in the sequences ...

    So two problems really ..

    1. Locking up while initializing X10
    2. Not executing the X10-Shutdown Windows command

    Only thing "new" this year in the set up is the DMX bridge and LOR V3.8. I ran LOR V2.94 last year and it never missed a beat....

    Can anyone offer any suggestions on how to track this down? I have everything basically running unattended so we dont have to be here at 6:00 to start it all up..

    Thanks to all,

    Bob
     
  2. OP
    OP
    bob_moody

    bob_moody Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Huntsville, TX
    Find Me On:
    UPDATE:

    Today, I left the laptop alone. I didnt start the seq editor or make any changes or adjustments.
    At 6:00PM I watched as the show started without any issues.

    It appears the X10 connection was already initalized and didnt have to startup. I watched the X10-Startup sequence fire off, the FTP updated the web page and the show began ...

    I still believe there is an issue so I'm still looking for assitance...

    Thanks for looking ..

    Bob
     

Share This Page