1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

question on pixlite 16

Discussion in 'Advatek Lights' started by bassnbuck, Apr 8, 2014.

  1. bassnbuck

    bassnbuck New Elf

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    concord,nh
    I just got my rgb from ray they are the 2812b. I am new to using this type of controller but tried to follow the step in the manual. I got things to work pretty easily until I tried to hook 2- 5 meter 30 led/m strips together. one worked fine the minute i hooked the second one in, a green light turned on, on the first rgb of the 2nd strip and the next 20 wouldnt work but then the rest of the strip did. I tried injecting power and it didnt change anything. I was using it in LSP in the test controller. any suggestion would be helpful. I had them setup with universe 1 started channel 1 to 450 universe 2 451 to 900 but could get them to work well. Any thoughts.
     
  2. ShellNZ

    ShellNZ Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Karaka, Auckland, NZ
    Find Me On:
    Try leaving the pixlite at default settings and start the universe at 1 with 300px (2 rolls).
     
  3. AussieDoug

    AussieDoug Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    By the looks of the manual you treat each output (2 universes) as 1, but you assign all 340 pixels / 1024 channels to it. If this doesn't fix your issue with a green led it could be a faulty one.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    bassnbuck

    bassnbuck New Elf

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    concord,nh
    thank you for the help aussiedoug that what i was doing wrong I was just putting the 300 pixels instead of the 340,so once I changed that it work fine. I was also surprised I didnt need power injection over the 2-5 volt 5 meter rolls. tested power at the end of 2-rolls still showed over 4 volts. very happy thanks again.
     
  5. Jago

    Jago New Elf

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Townsville
    Set all white and test voltage.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    bassnbuck

    bassnbuck New Elf

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    concord,nh
    i tested them use the test controller on LSP which means all 3 colors were on and that was what I got for results. plus it looked white to me. are you saying the volts should read above 4? I am new to this so I will check again.
     

Share This Page