1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

RGB Lights Stop Working After One Song Using S3

Discussion in 'Sequencers & Software Tools' started by djohnson1810, Oct 30, 2014.

  1. djohnson1810

    djohnson1810 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been running Halloween for about 3 weeks now. I am using 5 LOR units and 1 Pixlite 4 with Ray Wu's Techicolor pixels. Everything has been running great for 3 weeks now. The only thing I did different today was to reboot the computer.


    Tonight I noticed the RGB lights were not working. I rebooted the computer and the RGB lights started working... for one song. Then it stopped working again.


    Using the Advatek software I tried to search for the Pixlite but it could not find it. After another reboot the Advatek did find the Pixliete controller and everything looked okay. I used xlights to test the RGB lights and everything worked great. I started S3's Control panel and played a song. It worked great for one song and then did not work for the second song. I have tried playing different two songs with the same result.


    I also noticed that after playing one song using S3 I could not shut down S3;s control panel (the dos box that opens up). I would have to do a hard reboot of the computer.


    Thus, I believe I have drilled down to a problem with S3's control panel. I don't know why it is giving me this problem after 3 weeks. I occasionally will add a song or change something in the scheduler but that is about it.


    Thoughts? Should I try re-installing S3?


    I am using Windows 7.
     
  2. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    The comm listener dos box that pops up when you are using dmx and/or e1.31 is possibly showing messages that you need to have a look at to see if they are saying anything important. Also at times during the S3 development there has been issues where if a lor board or dongle hasn't been found during a sequence LOR will crack the HoHoHos, take its bat and ball and go home. There's a verifier program as part of lor. It might be worth running that over your sequences.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    djohnson1810

    djohnson1810 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    There are not error messages in the DOS box. If finds and opens the ports and is in listening Mode. I will check out the verifier. The irritating part is nothing has changed.
     
  4. bretheron

    bretheron Been bitten by the bug.

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Townsville
    Find Me On:
    I know I had issues with LOR holding on to files and information. If I had opened one sequence file then closed and opened another on a different type of network it would still be looking at the first file parameters.

    The limited suggestion that I will make is to shut down everything then start it up again. I still have issues with the order I have to turn things on, from the network to the devices and controllers so that they are all seen.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    djohnson1810

    djohnson1810 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree that S3 is sensitive to how things are started up. That is one of the first things I tried.


    It appears that the comm listener initially finds the Pixlite. When I try and close out S3 the comm listener can't seem to close the connection. It just keeps repeating a "time out" error.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    djohnson1810

    djohnson1810 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Update:


    Still no joy. I tried a second pixlite controller I have and it made no difference.


    I have taken the Enttec completely out of the S3 network preferances and disconnected it to make sure that was not the problem.


    I updated the firmware of the Pixlite to the latest.


    Still working flawlessly with xLights.


    Note that the DMX 1,2, and 3 is timing out. That is my Pixlite.
    IMG_1031.JPG


    Basically, it will work for one song (sometimes 1/2 song) and then stop working until I do a hard reboot.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    djohnson1810

    djohnson1810 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Resolution... kind of.


    I tried deleting S3 from my desktop and re-installing. No change.


    I tried running the program off of an old laptop. Bingo! Worked great. Unfortunately I need one with a dual video card to run the projector.


    Out came my other desktop. After setting everything up on that it is now working!


    So either there is a hardware issue with my computer or a corrupt driver. I will have time to look more into it after Halloween.
     

Share This Page