Solar Powered Light Show

RobertG

New elf
Hi Guys,
I'm new at setting up a light show and before I purchase anything I was wondering has anyone ever used deep cycle batteries with solar panels? The panels would charge the battery during the day while the show would be powered by the battery at night.

RobertG

New elf
no just trying to see if there was a way I could reduce the running costs

David_AVD

Grandpa Elf
Community project designer
Generous elf
The electricity cost of running Christmas lights is minuscule compared to the cost of the lights and controllers, etc.

The only reason you'd go with batteries / solar is to run a display where there is no mains available.

i13

Dedicated elf
@lithgowlights would be a good person to ask about electricity costs to run a display. He adds it all up each year.