Terminal Block for Power Supply

lightingelf

New elf
Hello,

This is my first year attempting a light display. I am using mostly WS2812B's and my longest run consists of 5 strips. I have a total of 8 elements that I will be powering from a single PSU. I understand power injection and ran the calculations on the total bulbs being used at 40% draw and I am under the 300W for the power supply with overhead (265w with 20% overhead). Since I am running everything from one PSU which only has 3 +/- terminals, I was thinking of using a terminal block, however the only terminal blocks I can find that have jumpers appear to only be 30A whereas my power supply is 60A. I wanted to use a terminal block with a jumper so I could have a common POS and common ground block so that I would wire each element including power injection with inline fuses. I believe that the terminal block will be inadequate because of the low amperage. Is there any other way to get around this? I am not using a controller that supports power outputs as most controllers are out of stock (Falcon, QuinLED) otherwise I would go that route. Thanks!

AAH

I love blinky lights :)
Community project designer
If you are planning on using inline fuses then you can connect directly to the terminals of your power supply. The individual outputs each have a maximum rating of 30A which is part of the reason that power supplies have multiple V+ and V- terminals. As long as the inline fuses are of a sufficient size to protect the wire that you are using and the total of the fuses on each of the 3 outputs doesn't exceed 30A then you are good to go. For instance you could put 4 7.5A fused outputs on each of 2 terminals. Or 6 5A fuses etc.
Some people will actually just use a domestic earth or neutral bar as a distribution point. If the entire 60A is to be distributed from a pair of bars then you would use 3 30A rated wires from each of the V+ and V- to a bar.

lightingelf

New elf
Thanks AAH!