1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

3.x Vixen 3 - zooming in virtual preview

Discussion in 'Vixen' started by scamper, Jun 9, 2014.

  1. scamper

    scamper Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    collie
    Find Me On:
    I am not sure if it was just me. Or if you have noticed this. But I downloaded the latest test vixen3 and the first thing I noticed is that if you zoom in on your display draw an item, then zoom out, it does not resize the item. So in other words it does not pin the item to the background accurately. (I thought I would try it as I wanted the star)

    While you are working in this area, Is there any way that we can have a freehand tool in the display. I don't pretend to know how difficult this is, but when you want a complex shape and have to use straight lines or circles it turns out such a mess.

    one last thing, is it possible to resize the items inside the sequence area. when I did my first sequence, I found that as I wanted 4 different sub elements to do the same thing, when I opened up the tree to display them, they did not fit on the page and I can only see this get worse the more elements you have.

    I am in no way criticizing as I think this software is awesome, I just thought I would bring it to your attention.
     
  2. smartalec

    smartalec Im a SmartAlec what can i say! Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,196
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    S.A.
    Find Me On:
    Re: Re: Vixen info please post here

    On the vixen website there is a section there to submit bugs an issues.
    Most talk an monitoring of idea's come from diyc (doityourselfchristmas)
     
  3. battle79

    battle79 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chirnside Park, Victoria, AU
    Re: Re: Vixen info please post here

    It is still a little buggy as far as the preview goes, I have found that you need to give it time to rescale after changing zoom, and then stop and restart the preview in the preview setup page.

    Should resolve most issues until fixed up properly.

    P.S. It seems to run my 17k of channels on an i7 desktop no problem at all. That makes me happy!
     
  4. adski

    adski Dave Brown

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Two Wells, SA
    Yes it is.

    Click on the "View" menu and you'll see

    [​IMG]

    You can zoom the timeline in and out, as well as zoom the element tree display in and out by using the menu or the listed hot keys. You can also zoom the timeline by using the mouse wheel with the [control] key.

    Also useful - the mouse wheel scrolls the element tree, and [shift] mouse wheel pans the timeline.

    Dave
     
  5. OP
    OP
    scamper

    scamper Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    collie
    Find Me On:
    Re: Re: Vixen 3 - zooming in virtual preview

    Thanks adski, I had a brain fart when I tried to resize. :-[ I attempted to drag in the timeline when I should know better, I just tried again dragging in the description area and all works as it should.
    In my defence when I was trying to resize it was at around 1am after 6hours of sequencing already. :p
     
  6. davrus

    davrus Silent Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Whitianga
    Re: Re: Vixen 3 - zooming in virtual preview

    Presumably you guys are using the 3.0.11 Dev Build.


    So it must be stable enough to use for "productive" designing/sequencing ?


    I want to use it, as I have some spinners/starbursts that I want to include in my display. Could I design them in, and then step back to 3.0.10 ?
     
  7. OP
    OP
    scamper

    scamper Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    collie
    Find Me On:
    Re: Re: Vixen 3 - zooming in virtual preview

    I am not sure if it has changed, but when I did a test sequence and stepped back, It lost the bits like the star that was drawn, so I don't believe at this stage you could.
    Someone correct me if I am wrong.
     

Share This Page