Waterproof box for J1SYS P12S board and 2 power supplies

4craigh

New elf
Joined
Mar 22, 2012
Messages
19
Can someone recommend a waterproof box to mount a J1SYS P12S board and 2 power supplies?
thanks


Craig
 

hdracer

There is no rehab for the CLAP
Joined
Feb 17, 2012
Messages
176
Location
Sugar Land,Tx
At home depot & lowes they have a box that is large enough to do so. ill see if I cant find pics
I know Shellnz is using the box im talking about, as I am too.
 

4craigh

New elf
Joined
Mar 22, 2012
Messages
19
If you have a picture that would be helpful, and a product number.
 

mborg10

Michael Borg
Joined
Dec 28, 2011
Messages
1,446
Location
claremont meadows
Yagoona and lithgow lights use, these boxes http://www.mjselectricalsupplies.com.au/index.php?route=product/product&filter_name=Adaptable+box&page=2&product_id=53
Problem is they listed them on here and they sold out. I've spoken with the manager and he is sourcing new boxes possibly larger ones. These ones fit a power supply & p12s. I sent him pics of other people's set ups and he will email me back when he finds a supplier


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2
 

RayKob

New elf
Joined
Mar 6, 2013
Messages
3
Location
Savannah, GA
I recently purchase that item and i am very dissastified with it. It is designed for out door timer and has a pre mounted power outlet and a center post to support the mounting plate. Looks like you would have to do alot of cutting to add anything to it and even then i don't see two 30amp supplies fitting along with the P12S board. I found this item to be a waste of money. Take a look at the following:

http://store.creativelightingdisplays.com/Enclosures_c19.htm
 

scott4864

New elf
Joined
Aug 5, 2010
Messages
3
RayKob said:
I recently purchase that item and i am very dissastified with it. It is designed for out door timer and has a pre mounted power outlet and a center post to support the mounting plate. Looks like you would have to do alot of cutting to add anything to it and even then i don't see two 30amp supplies fitting along with the P12S board. I found this item to be a waste of money. Take a look at the following:

http://store.creativelightingdisplays.com/Enclosures_c19.htm
I got one of the Orbit boxes to try also. I agree that it doesn't seem to fit 2 power supplies and a controller very well. I have also tried the Cable Guard enclosures and they don't seem large enough either. I am still looking for an enclosure that will accommodate the controller, 2 power supplies, and still leave enough room for the fans to circulate some air.
I am thinking about using a Sockitbox http://www.sockitbox.com/size-option/330/#ad-image-0 they have plenty of space. I'm just not sure I like the idea of having it just sitting on the ground.
 

4craigh

New elf
Joined
Mar 22, 2012
Messages
19
A friend of mine used the Orbit box with two power supplies and one ECG-P12R controller. Yes the box requires some modifications but he got it to work.
check out his post in this link - Look for the user dqhall - he posted a picture of the box and the hardware.
http://forums.lightorama.com/index.php?/topic/26273-which-rgb-system/


The ECG-P12S controller is about 1" taller so it will not fit in the Orbit box. I was trying to find another solution.
Kevin at Creative Lighting Displays suggested using two boxes one for the power supplies and smaller one for the controller, here is the link to his store: [SIZE=78%]http://store.creativelightingdisplays.com/[/SIZE]


It would be nice to have everything in one box but I don't want a huge box in the yard, makes it very noticeable.




Craig
 

viennaxmas

New elf
Joined
Sep 6, 2012
Messages
38
I have just tried the cable guard CG 1500 box which was recommended by some - it does fit nicely. Unfortunately there is not enough space to mount more than one power supply. Now I need to calculate...

I found a few other larger boxes, unfortunately at $200 and more. I may have to explore the world of aliexpress a bit more...
 

logandc99

Dedicated elf
Joined
Jul 13, 2012
Messages
1,151
I've used the cg1500 boxes as well. I've had to use two boxes per p12s setup, one box containing the two power supplies (the fit is fairly snug) and a sep box for the P12s. I had ordered about 6 of the boxes from creative lighting displays last year. They are $15.95 each US. Unfortunately postage was about expensive out to NZ but still worked out way cheaper than buying anything here.

 

fasteddy

I have C.L.A.P
Global moderator
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
6,645
Location
Albion Park NSW
logandc99 said:
I've used the cg1500 boxes as well. I've had to use two boxes per p12s setup, one box containing the two power supplies (the fit is fairly snug) and a sep box for the P12s. I had ordered about 6 of the boxes from creative lighting displays last year. They are $15.95 each US. Unfortunately postage was about expensive out to NZ but still worked out way cheaper than buying anything here.

I hope you used some ventilation in that case because thats 700 watts of power supply all enclosed into a tight space. There is a reason the power supplies have their own fan and that is so cool fresh air can ensure the components dont overheat or dont have a shorter life due to heat stress.
 
Top