Waterproof box for J1SYS P12S board and 2 power supplies

Discussion in 'EthConGateway by Joshua 1 Systems' started by 4craigh, Jul 26, 2013.

  1. 4craigh

    4craigh New Elf

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can someone recommend a waterproof box to mount a J1SYS P12S board and 2 power supplies?
    thanks


    Craig
     
  2. hdracer

    hdracer There is no rehab for the CLAP

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sugar Land,Tx
    At home depot & lowes they have a box that is large enough to do so. ill see if I cant find pics
    I know Shellnz is using the box im talking about, as I am too.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    4craigh

    4craigh New Elf

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you have a picture that would be helpful, and a product number.
     
  4. mborg10

    mborg10 Michael Borg

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    claremont meadows
    Yagoona and lithgow lights use, these boxes http://www.mjselectricalsupplies.com.au/index.php?route=product/product&filter_name=Adaptable+box&page=2&product_id=53
    Problem is they listed them on here and they sold out. I've spoken with the manager and he is sourcing new boxes possibly larger ones. These ones fit a power supply & p12s. I sent him pics of other people's set ups and he will email me back when he finds a supplier


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2
     
  5. scott4864

    scott4864 New Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. OP
    OP
    4craigh

    4craigh New Elf

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. RayKob

    RayKob New Elf

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    I recently purchase that item and i am very dissastified with it. It is designed for out door timer and has a pre mounted power outlet and a center post to support the mounting plate. Looks like you would have to do alot of cutting to add anything to it and even then i don't see two 30amp supplies fitting along with the P12S board. I found this item to be a waste of money. Take a look at the following:

    http://store.creativelightingdisplays.com/Enclosures_c19.htm
     
  8. scott4864

    scott4864 New Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got one of the Orbit boxes to try also. I agree that it doesn't seem to fit 2 power supplies and a controller very well. I have also tried the Cable Guard enclosures and they don't seem large enough either. I am still looking for an enclosure that will accommodate the controller, 2 power supplies, and still leave enough room for the fans to circulate some air.
    I am thinking about using a Sockitbox http://www.sockitbox.com/size-option/330/#ad-image-0 they have plenty of space. I'm just not sure I like the idea of having it just sitting on the ground.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    4craigh

    4craigh New Elf

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    A friend of mine used the Orbit box with two power supplies and one ECG-P12R controller. Yes the box requires some modifications but he got it to work.
    check out his post in this link - Look for the user dqhall - he posted a picture of the box and the hardware.
    http://forums.lightorama.com/index.php?/topic/26273-which-rgb-system/


    The ECG-P12S controller is about 1" taller so it will not fit in the Orbit box. I was trying to find another solution.
    Kevin at Creative Lighting Displays suggested using two boxes one for the power supplies and smaller one for the controller, here is the link to his store: [SIZE=78%]http://store.creativelightingdisplays.com/[/SIZE]


    It would be nice to have everything in one box but I don't want a huge box in the yard, makes it very noticeable.




    Craig
     
  10. viennaxmas

    viennaxmas New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have just tried the cable guard CG 1500 box which was recommended by some - it does fit nicely. Unfortunately there is not enough space to mount more than one power supply. Now I need to calculate...

    I found a few other larger boxes, unfortunately at $200 and more. I may have to explore the world of aliexpress a bit more...
     
  11. logandc99

    logandc99 Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    1
    Find Me On:
    I've used the cg1500 boxes as well. I've had to use two boxes per p12s setup, one box containing the two power supplies (the fit is fairly snug) and a sep box for the P12s. I had ordered about 6 of the boxes from creative lighting displays last year. They are $15.95 each US. Unfortunately postage was about expensive out to NZ but still worked out way cheaper than buying anything here.

    [​IMG]
     
  12. viennaxmas

    viennaxmas New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
  13. Salvatore Anello

    Salvatore Anello New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
  14. rjm12rjm12

    rjm12rjm12 New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusettes
    Find Me On:
    I can't wait to see the pics, I just ordered my power supplies and P12S and was wondering what to put them in.
     
  15. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    I hope you used some ventilation in that case because thats 700 watts of power supply all enclosed into a tight space. There is a reason the power supplies have their own fan and that is so cool fresh air can ensure the components dont overheat or dont have a shorter life due to heat stress.
     

Share This Page