Why solder wires?

Keither

New elf
Hey there!
I am a complete sequencing newb, although I do have a background as a DJ and a good understanding of stage design and show lighting. This forum has been a godsend of information for me and I thank everyone involved. I am writing a pixel light show for the main stage at The Nightmare Before Christmas, an annual rave party I produce in RI, USA. This doesn't pertain to my question, it's just my first post here and I figured I'd introduce myself somehow.

That being said, I was wondering why the golden standard for wire connections is to solder and heat shrink. I am an electrician, and I am accustomed to using wire nuts for all of my connections. Soldering seems antiquated and overkill for simple wire connections.
My show will be indoors for this event, but I will be using the lights for my own yard, as well as other indoor and outdoor events. For this one, I am going to be using basic wire nuts.
As for waterproofing, why wouldn't you just use wire nuts, and rubber tape, then vinyl tape the joint? Another option would be waterproof wire nuts, which is a newer (3 or 4 years old) product. They are designed to be used outdoors even underground for things like landscape lighting. I would still at least vinyl tape the wire nuts to prevent any accidents though.
Soldering seems so permanent, and a lot of work for non permanent connections. I would like to be able to break down my elements and use the lights for other projects/configurations, and with a soldered heat shrunk connection, you would have to cut out that section of wire. With wire nuts, you could just unwrap the tape and untwist the wire nuts, and the wire in most cases would be reusable down to the stripped end.
Maybe I'm missing something, but I feel like wire nuts, especially waterproof ones would be a much easier and just as secure of an install.
Any insight would be greatly appreciated.