Wire for the TPR

Discussion in 'Strobes - LED or Others' started by chilloutdocdoc, May 26, 2011.

  1. chilloutdocdoc

    chilloutdocdoc Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Florida
    My TPR strobes are starting to take shape, but I was wondering what kind of wire is everybody using to hook them up?

    My goal was to have them hook up like a standard string of lights, with a male and a female plug, one on each end. I was thinking of using 18ga lamp cord, but would have no way to solder that to the PCB as it is so tiny.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. dmoore

    dmoore Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX, USA
    Speak to the CAT!

    [​IMG]
     
  3. OP
    OP
    chilloutdocdoc

    chilloutdocdoc Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Florida
    I was thinking cat5, but it's very fragile stuff, and doesn't quite carry the current i'm looking for... Ideally would like to have them in strands of 10-15 which could be as much as 5.25A since i'm using 1W led's
     
  4. dmoore

    dmoore Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX, USA
    Fragile? Fragile is my 97 year old grand father.... They switched to CAT5 from leather in for production of CAT-o-NINE tails due to it's durability! You could tow your car out of a ditch with the stuff! And the colors! You don't get that with plain old SPT2 brown, black or green cord. :)

    Wouldn't that assume constant draw? But these are not constant? What happens if 10 of them were wired together and then measurements of actual consumption and power drop per performed?
     
  5. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    Cat 5 cable depends on whether it is patch cable or fixed wiring cable. The stuff that is for fixed wiring has only a single strand of copper per conductor and is quite fragile when it comes to being moved around/rolled up regularly. The multi-strand cat 5 is indeed fairly un-fragile.
     
  6. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
  7. Steve22537

    Steve22537 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Harrisdale, WA
    I've used irrigation valve cable, comes in may colours and many multicore configurations and is designed for outdoor / underground use and its cheap. Reticulation and hardware shops stock it. On my strobes I was able to salvage some clear wire from a set of strings in brought from China (200M, 240v, 1200 LED's for $A14.00), the LEDs where crap but the cable was fine.

    http://www.perthirrigation.com.au/listProduct/WIRE+AND+CABLE/LOW+VOLTAGE+CABLE

    Steve
     
  8. DanoNJ

    DanoNJ Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Monroe Twp., NJ
    I soldered the board with some single strand CAT5 wire about 3" long and plan on attaching that to old mini ican strings. No trigger on my strobes so I only need a 2 wire set up.
     

Share This Page