WS2811 speed

Discussion in 'EthConGateway by Joshua 1 Systems' started by WayneKremer, Nov 7, 2012.

  1. WayneKremer

    WayneKremer New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is the general consensus on the WS2811 pixel speed for the P12? 2400? Thx!
     
  2. smartalec

    smartalec Im a SmartAlec what can i say! Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,183
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    S.A.
    Find Me On:
    3000 to 3600 but it depends on the distance to the pixels
     
  3. zoobmarine

    zoobmarine New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Find Me On:
    3000 larger distance? 3600 shorter distance?
     
  4. crispy

    crispy Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fraser Lake
    I found the farther from the controller the slow the speed needs to be. My longest string works at 3040kbps when its colder than -5C and doesn't work at any speed if it warms up. Now its quite likely I'm out to lunch but thats what worked for me :eek:
     
  5. burner

    burner Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    What sort of issues are you guys seeing with the incorrect speeds? Is it lag issues or lights going weird?
     
  6. crispy

    crispy Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fraser Lake
    I see white if it's too fast and nothing if it's too slow.
     
  7. burner

    burner Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    My P12R is running at 2400 for my 2811 lights, and I haven't noticed any of those issues. My longest cable run is probably no more then 5-6m though.
     
  8. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    you must be still using the 1804 code for your 2811 as the update gives 2811 official support.

    I have used the 1804 at 2400 but i will be updating this evening so I can use native 2811 support
     
  9. burner

    burner Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nah, 2811 is definetly selected (on 2.6 and 2.7) and they're sitting on 2400 and working o.k.
     
  10. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    Strange as I thought the 2811 should be 3000 to 3500
     
  11. burner

    burner Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just got home now and can confirm that they were definetly set to 2811 and to 2400. I've changed them all to 3000 and will test tonight and see what happens.

    Just a note to Ed, perhaps it may be better to add some text to the string config webpage page with recommended speed ranges for each type of IC?
     
  12. burner

    burner Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just did a quick test run at 3000 and 3300 baud rate and it seems to introduce more flickering for me on the troubled 2 channels (see other thread). I put it back to 2400 and it's a lot more monimal now (only the full white bits and only affecting about 15 LED's across both channels).
     
  13. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    I upgraded to the 2811 firmware on my P12R and went about setting the speed for the 2811, the sweet spot for me is around 1800, so the speed can vary considerably
     
  14. Bevo

    Bevo Let your Light Shine before men

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Caboolture QLD
    Find Me On:
    I have been playing around with this heaps of late and ended up moving all my P12R's as close as I can get them to my matrixes and the longest run from the P12R to the first pixel is about 1.8m. At this distance I run them at 4000 without any issues.
    After having a hard time getting them working at the start I emailed Ed and asked for some advice and he recommended using a 5ft lead to a null pixel or to the first pixel and then use 10ft leads after that for further distances.
     
  15. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    I have mine on 8 metre cables and may be the reason i require the slowe speed of 1800, but they seem to now be working perfectly. It looks like the length of the cable has a lot to do with it
     

Share This Page