Expanding RPI-28D+

Matt430

New elf
Hi,

I am just getting started in blinky lights and looking at starting my first light show and have an existing Raspberry Pi 4B. I plan to use a RPI-28D+ to get me started with the 2 WS2811 channel outputs with FPP loaded onboard.

I have read that you can extend the number of channels through the RJ45 port using DMX and FPP. Is this possible with the RJ45 port on the RPI-28D+? Could you connect into a HE123-EX2 4 Channel RJ45 breakout board and extend the number of pixels supported by the Raspberry Pi and RPI-28D+ combo? If this is possible does is also require the paid license for FPP? In my case the extension would sit right next to the Pi with the purpose of providing more channels for pixels.

I am also slightly confused around the HE123-4T different transmitter and HE123-RX2 differential receiver. Are these what are used to extend the number of pixels on controllers?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Skymaster

Crazy elf
Global moderator
Generous elf
No, you can't use the DMX port, however you can use the WS2801 port.
If you license FPP (paid) for 4 outputs, and enable the DPIPixels code, you can address four outputs total; the two regular outputs, and then the "Clock" and "Data" lines on the WS2801 become two independent WS2811 outputs.

The DMX/RJ45 internally connects to the serial port ttyAMA0, so this can only be used for serial data, not pixel data.
You could, however, use a DMX pixel controller, but you can only get 170 pixels out of the 510 (512) channels in DMX.

Reactions: AAH

Skymaster

Crazy elf
Global moderator
Generous elf
I am also slightly confused around the HE123-4T different transmitter and HE123-RX2 differential receiver. Are these what are used to extend the number of pixels on controllers?
Not the number of pixels but the distance.