Absolute noob from Geelong with a unique project. HELP!

Dmc

New elf
Hi everyone,

I'm building an expedition truck using an ex CFA 4x4 Isuzu. I'm planning on combining LEDs, perspex and copper for the external cladding to turn our truck into a travelling light show. We plan on taking our truck to arts and music festivals and use it to spread awareness for all kinds of topics. This is a whole new world for me, so I have a lot to learn, any help is much appreciated, especially if there is anyone from Geelong that would like to help me along the way.

Here's an introduction to our build

View: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W9CKZDNjE4A

AAH

I love blinky lights :)
Community project designer
Welcome to ACL.
What sort of led lights are you looking to put on it? Are you just looking at bordering things or putting on display panels or a combination of them both? Drawing up a picture of what you are wanting there will make it easier to offer advice.

TerryK

Retired Elf
Trying to make relevant suggestions are a bit difficult until additional information is presented. With that, I would suggest using 12 volt LEDs powered from the Isuzu's battery. There are a few concerns, size of the alternator, battery/batteries, and the alternator shoving the 12 volt to 13.8 when running mostly. This assumes that the Isuzu's electrical system is 12 volt of course.

Katekate

Senior elf
Just double check the road laws.

By the strictest interpretation, you cant have them in most states. But you should be ok as long as you never use them while driving.

Ambarta

New elf
Hey Dan,

I'm based out of Geelong and work in entertainment lighting. It's my first year of pixels this year, but the ACL community especially have been incredibly helpful.
I'm more than happy to help out and offer any advice that I can, whilst still learning myself. Feel free to shoot me a PM if you'd like to catch up.

Pat

Mark_M

Annoying Elf