Absolute noob from Geelong with a unique project. HELP!

TerryK

Retired Elf
Your one response indicates you are leaning towards strips; strips are not diffused like the round or square strings. Other than glare, the individual RGB LEDs can usually be easily seen at moderate illumination and distances. The IP65 or IP67 coating is clear and does not diffuse either. Mounting the strip inside someting diffused, say similar to a floroescent tube will 'blend' the LEDs somewhat and also if impervious to liquids allow you to use a strip with a IP30 rating. You would still need to insulate the solder pads on the rear of the strip. An ACL Forum search of LED Extrusion or Strip Channel will give you an idea of what others have done to mount and diffuse strips.

Mark_M

Annoying Elf
learn more about synchronisation with music and if it's possible to allow musicians to somehow hook up to it?
There is a possibility of using a lighting console with xLights, I haven't got the skills myself but the possibility is there. This means if a band has their own lights and lighting console they can trigger patterns within their cues.

Alternatively, there is MIDI for control.

With some programming on the Raspberry Pi you could send MIDI commands? Something like listening to a mic or sound input which triggers MIDI.

Next taught is FPP (Falcon [Pi] Player) with triggers, the trigger would activate overlays to the current playing sequence.

It is diffidently interesting how many ways there is to [try] and achieve this.

Mark_M

Annoying Elf
i hear a echo in this thread. @Mark_M
I will grant that at 18:21 there becomes mention to Raspberry Pi and events. At 7:06 the menu is shown with all available inputs.
However; we can never assume that everyone will be paying close attention to the video for these details.

It's written in this thread now. I'll state that MIDI mentioned is overlapping but at least I give a bit more to it :).
Anyway; carry on and let's help this person out.

Dmc

New elf