1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

ACL Strobe Light Controller

Discussion in 'Strobes - LED or Others' started by breast69au, Sep 20, 2012.

  1. breast69au

    breast69au Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi,

    What is the best controller to use for these lights. I dont have any controllers yet and am needing on to do the 5v.

    Recommendations???
     
  2. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    Any DC controller should do.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    breast69au

    breast69au Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    most of the dc controllers i have seen dont go as low as 5v
     
  4. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    You really can use anything, I use mine with a 12vdc relay connected (as that controller uses 12vdc) to one channel as you only need on and off, so you could even use an AC controller if you drive an AC relay from 1 channel. You can also connect it straight upto any DC controller even if the controller voltage is not 5vdc. Refer to the wiki example 2 or 3 from this wiki page link , just ensure you dont use dimming or shimmer or twinkle effects
     
  5. pipersmall

    pipersmall Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Find Me On:
    I'm just trying to get my head around running the 5v strobes on a 12v controller. http://dl.dropbox.com/u/60010181/Strobe%20Connections.docx
    Just wondering if I have this correct? Using option 3b on the strobes with a trigger line, do I wire the 12v PSU +ve to the board then connect the -ve to the 5v PSU -ve which connects to the board. The strobe power connects direct to the +/- of the 5v PSU and then the trigger line connects on the channel output?
    Does the trigger line need to connect back to anything?
     
  6. drzman

    drzman New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have mine triggered by a Ray Wu 27 channel controller.

    Strobes are constructed as 3 wire, +ve, -ve, and trigger line (option 3b I think).

    The controller is running at 12v, controlling some flood lights.

    The +ve on the strobe is connected to a 5V power supply. (so it is always powered as long as the power supply is on)

    The -ve on the strobe is connected to a terminal block along with the -ve outputs from all my power supplies. (a common common rail :) )

    The trigger line is just connected to one of the controllers channels.

    When the channel is turned on the trigger line is pulled low (down to ground) and triggers the strobe.

    As stated above both power supplies must have a common ground (-ve) for this to work properly.


    Your picture looks fine, your -ve eventually gets to the controller :)
     
  7. Skunberg

    Skunberg Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Eagan
    I use a Renard 48 LSD.
     

Share This Page