1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Another newbie from Newy

Discussion in 'New Members Say Hello' started by franky_888, Dec 31, 2013.

1. franky_888

franky_888 Apprentice Elf

I'm thinking that Newcastle might be next years most improved area judging by all the newcomers posting in this forum from the Newcastle area (myself included).

I currently live in Medowie (about 30 mins north of Newcastle) and have been lighting my house up over the last 2 years since we moved in. First year involved only icicles around the gutters, this year I added some coloured strings around the pillars / balustrades, windows and doors. Yesterday I packed up this years effort, and while I'm still in that festive mood I'm here to get a start on next year's effort, mainly due to the fact that I'll leave it too late to start next year :p

My background is in IT, however, while I was still in school I did an introduction to Electronics as an elective, so I have a limited understanding of electrical components and how to solder etc, so hopefully that comes in handy (it definitely helped when it comes to installing car radios and repairing headphones!)

I jumped on chat a little before Chrissy, but from what I gathered my plans may not be as straight forward as I'd hoped. I'd like to start with synchronising all of my current strings (bypassing / removing the existing controllers), then maybe after that I can move into the pixel strings that are all the rage these days. Baby steps are good for me!

2. Habbosrus

Habbosrus New house (again) 2017

Find Me On:
    Awesome, another newy from Newy. We're coming out of the woodwork. Welcome to ACL. You should definitely be able to get something going with your current strings. I used one of Alan's (AAH) 2811dc15 boards to drive my BigW lights this year. You've definitely got a good start on 2014.

3. dale82

dale82 Senior Elf