1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

BeagleBone Black running Falcon Player on P10's

Discussion in '101 Display Basics' started by SantaClaws, Oct 23, 2017.

Tags:
  1. SantaClaws

    SantaClaws New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Greetings from the Gold Coast,
    I am having trouble getting my P10 panels to display a sequence (created with xLights 2017.32) using a BBB with Octoscrolla and FPP v1.9-64.
    It is a 5h x 4w matrix, all panels with arrows up, connected to an octoscrolla, outputs 1-5.
    Each output is driving a horizontal row of 4 panels.
    So far, I can't get even a glimmer from any of my panels, even though I can get the sequence to run in FPP.
    I have screendumps of the various settings in FPP.
    Can anyone please offer any suggestions why it won't display?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Ellis

    Ellis Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2017
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Let me start by saying I am new too but will try to assist.

    You don't need anything set up in BBB String Cape.
    In E1.31 set up 60 universes and enable output.
    In your panels setup you need to reverse the panel order, they are mirror image, imagine looking from the front.
    I'm assuming you have the model start corner correct as top left.

    Let me know if that helps.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    SantaClaws

    SantaClaws New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Hi Ellis,
    Thanks for the response to my query.
    You say I need to reverse the panel order in the panels setup - does that mean Output1 will be 5, then 4, then 3 etc?
    Also, if I am looking from the front, won't the start then be from the right?
     
  4. Ellis

    Ellis Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2017
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Reverse the panel order, not the outputs, so P1 is actually P4, so yes reverse if that makes sense.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    SantaClaws

    SantaClaws New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Thanks Ellis, I tried that (reversing the panel order), but to no avail.
    There's still no sign of activity from the LEDs.
    It's got to be something fundamental that I am missing.
    I am still open to suggestions for a solution.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. djgra79

    djgra79 Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    Cranbourne West
    Find Me On:
    Have you ticked "enable led panel output" on that screen?
    Is the status screen showing data packets being sent?
     
  7. OP
    OP
    SantaClaws

    SantaClaws New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Hi djgra79,
    Thank you for your response.
    Yes, I've ticked "enable LED panel output" Status display shows FPP sequence running.jpg LED Panel config.jpg Status display shows FPP sequence running.jpg LED Panel config.jpg Status display shows FPP sequence running.jpg LED Panel config.jpg , and the status display shows progress of the FPP sequence.
    Surely, there should be some activity on the panel LEDs.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    SantaClaws

    SantaClaws New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Gold Coast
  9. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    To eliminate the sequence setup and sequencing have you tried putting the BBB into bridge mode and sending data to it with da_e131.
     
  10. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    Can you pop up closeup pics of the input to 1 P10 panel and also the output from the octo.
    For the moment I'd disconnect rows 2-4 until you get 1 row going.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    SantaClaws

    SantaClaws New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Hi Alan,
    I now have a static (partial) image on the panels.
    I left all outputs still connected, enabled the E1.31 output in Channel Outputs, and the static image appeared.
    I can't get it to animate or follow the sequence though.
    Also, what is the significance of the BBB Cape Type? Is it relevant to this setup?
    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  12. djgra79

    djgra79 Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    Cranbourne West
    Find Me On:
    Santa, these are panels not pixel strings so you do NOT need to enable any settings on the BBB string page.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    SantaClaws

    SantaClaws New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Wooohooo! It's working as it should.
    The key was not enabling the BBB String Cape.
    Last year's display was just LED strings arranged horizontally, and I was still working on that idea, not panels.
    Many thanks to djgra79 and all members who responded to my request for assistance.

    Request for assistance now closed, now where's that single malt...
     
    djgra79 likes this.
  14. Ellis

    Ellis Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2017
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Good to hear, glad you got it sorted :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page