1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Blown Big W transformer.

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by cleevesinoz, Dec 7, 2014.

  1. cleevesinoz

    cleevesinoz newbie here

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Huntingdale
    Last night I had 16 Big W lights sets blow !!!!!!!
    After testing this morning the 16 sets of lights work but the plug in transformer doesn't,
    Any Ideas to what may have caused it as other lights on the same channel still work.
    My problem now is there is no way to replace the transformer without buying new lights so is thhere a way I can fix them without buying new lights.


    Thanks
     
  2. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,535
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    16 transformers or did you have 16 sets hanging off one transformer?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    cleevesinoz

    cleevesinoz newbie here

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Huntingdale
    16 transformers
     
  4. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,535
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    Did you try to dim them on a 240V (LOR for example) controller?
     
  5. OP
    OP
    cleevesinoz

    cleevesinoz newbie here

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Huntingdale
    Am using LOR but set the lights only for on/off and all worked fine last year and for the first week this year
     
  6. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,535
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    If they are the newer style lightweight (switchmode) plugpacks they probably won't like being switched on and off all the time.

    If they are the old style heavy (iron core) plugpacks you can get away with switching as long as it's not super rapid.

    I'm not sure why the older style ones would have died if you didn't dim them.

    I threw away most of my Big W transformers, but should still have some in a box somewhere. It's likely that other membes also have a bunch of them laying about collecting dust.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    cleevesinoz

    cleevesinoz newbie here

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Huntingdale
    Is there a way of wiring them without the transformer?
     
  8. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,535
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    Sure, to a DC controller with a 30V DC power supply. You won't be able to use the old MFC boxes though.
     
  9. Habbosrus

    Habbosrus New house (again) 2017

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Swansea, NSW
    Find Me On:
    I have a few of the transformers. They're yours if you want them. You'd be better off doing as David suggested and getting a dc controller, wouldn't you?
     
  10. OP
    OP
    cleevesinoz

    cleevesinoz newbie here

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Huntingdale
    thanks Guys
    Think i will go down that route
     
  11. gerry

    gerry Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Surrey Hills,Melbourne
    I too have a few transformers that I have removed . Not sure about the specs, but I can check. U can have them - I can look for them if u wish.
     
  12. Benschristmaslights

    Benschristmaslights Dedicated Elf Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,133
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Elderslie
    Find Me On:
    even if you replace them as David says if your dimming them then the same thing will happen
     
  13. Beacy

    Beacy It's so much better on the dark side

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beaconsfield
    Hate to say it but maybe its time to ditch the dangerous 240V LOR that fry people and buy a DC board off Alan (AAH) .... (I bought the last of David's) and your problems will be solved .... may work out a cheaper option too and will allow for cheaper and eqasier expanion in the future
     
  14. uppitt

    uppitt Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Find Me On:
    I probably have some spare transformers as well, as I normally join 2 strings (400 LEDs) off the one transformer. They just will be a little bulky to ship, but yours if you pay for postage.


    David, why can't you use the MFC if you go with a 30V transformer? This was something I was thinking of doing, but still using the same cabling with the MFC.


    Tim
     
  15. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,535
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    You certainly could use the existing strings and MFCs with a 24V AC transformer. In fact that's exactly what I used to do before I switched to computer controlled lights.

    My comment was that you can't use a 30V DC power supply with the MFCs. The reason is they require AC power as they derive the timing from the 50Hz mains frequency. If you feed them DC they just sit there doing nothing.
     

Share This Page