Can't tell if I'll need a DMX controller for this light or not...

Discussion in 'RGB Lights - Intelligent Pixels and 3-Channel RGB' started by marsh28, Mar 21, 2012.

  1. marsh28

    marsh28 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,343
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    It does say "with DMX512 decoder inside" so should be ok with your DMX Pro. One thing you might want to check is how to set the DMX start address.
     
  3. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    A quote from the description of that link.

    High power led wall washer,36*1W;RGB; 1 meter long; DMX512 compatible;AC100-240V input
    with DMX512 decoder inside, IP65


    If unsure then confirm with Ray, but from that description it seems to have a DMX decoder, just seems weird in the photo with an external decoder.
     
  4. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,343
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    The light is running in that photo, so maybe that's just a stand alone DMX controller Ray uses to test them?

    My main concern was that it may require a start address setting box, like those 3 channel decoders. Would definitely pay to check before buying.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    marsh28

    marsh28 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks everyone.
     
  6. ewanh

    ewanh what goes here?

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Langwarrin, VIC
    Find Me On:
    My inexperienced guess is the black cable coming in from the right is the power. White is DMX in, left hand end appears to have white DMX out. I would guess it works like the 3ch controllers...
     

Share This Page