1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

CCR Strips

Discussion in 'RGB Lights - Intelligent Pixels and 3-Channel RGB' started by Greg, Feb 25, 2015.

  1. bluzervic

    bluzervic 65,768 Channels, 185 Universes

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Fremont, Calif.
    Find Me On:
    If I am not mistaken their sequences are made from using Superstar.


    If that is the case you can take existing Sequences and modify them by extending the Morph endpoints. Animations just need new endpoints as well...so they travel further down or up.


    they would already work 1/2 way down/up the tree, you just need them to go the rest of the way... so you change the endpoints.


    I am planning on building a CCR type tree. So I will be playing with the sequences and can Document it further.


    Here is the Strips I am going to use... Ray Wu, Ben and HolidayCoro sell them.


    Here is a link to HolidayCoro.


    http://www.holidaycoro.com/Smart-Pixel-LED-RGB-Strip-60-LEDs-m-20-Pixels-m-p/708-white-ps.htm


    -Blu
     
  2. OP
    OP
    Greg

    Greg New Elf

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Corona, CA
    Thanks Blu!
     
  3. i13

    i13 Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    22
    As far as the controller and software are concerned, 2.5m of the 12V strip with 60 LEDs per metre is the same as 5m of the 12V strip with 30 LEDs per metre. INK strips are the only 12V strip exception I can think of.

    Obviously 60 LEDs per metre is going to be BRIGHT so you might want to consider strips which have individual LED control if you want the pixel density without the brightness. Be careful not to confuse the pixel count with the LED count. Some strips have 3 LEDs per pixel and some have 1.
     
  4. Gilrock

    Gilrock Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Find Me On:
    I'm happy without the double density strips. Just remember to calculate the power you will need. If you saw my thread called DIY 12 Ribbon Tree I have a photo of a controller that fits nicely in a container with 2 power supplies. I think if I went to double density strips I would be just at or over the max capacity of the 2 power supplies so I would probably have needed two housings for 3 power supplies. Since we don't run full white all the time it's possible 2 would have been fine. You were talking about using 16 ribbons instead of 12 like me so you might definitely need 3 supplies if you go double density. It also doubles the channels and bandwidth for that element.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Greg

    Greg New Elf

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Corona, CA
    Thanks for al the great information! Love these forums!
     
  6. bluzervic

    bluzervic 65,768 Channels, 185 Universes

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Fremont, Calif.
    Find Me On:

    With the new pixlite firmware, you can curtail the intensity on the controller.... makes it easy


    -Blu
     

Share This Page