channels staying on

coobyking

New elf
Joined
May 19, 2011
Messages
20
Location
toowoomba
dont quite know whats happening, last night show was running ok (6 dc boards @ 29v all LED) then after around 15 minutes or so some channels would stay on, it was happenning to a couple of channels on every board, they would go off when the channel was turned on and off again next time round, all very random.
had a look at a few forums and suggested fixes could be a snubber resistor on the output.
can you fit a snubber to DC circuits , the forums all seemed to be AC related, dont want to damage anything.
 

David_AVD

Really old (now a Grandpa)
Community project designer
Generous elf
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
4,229
Location
Victoria Point (Brisbane)
I assume these are LOR CMB16 boards and running in LOR mode?

If so, maybe you are getting data corruption and the controllers are missing the occasional OFF command?

What sort of cable are you using to go from the LOR dongle to the controllers?
 

coobyking

New elf
Joined
May 19, 2011
Messages
20
Location
toowoomba
yep
cmb16d and running LOR with a cat 5 cable (seperated about 100mm from any other cable)
 

David_AVD

Really old (now a Grandpa)
Community project designer
Generous elf
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
4,229
Location
Victoria Point (Brisbane)
I doubt it's a controller output problem. Sounds very much like missing OFF commands.

It's possibly missing some ON commands too, but you may not have noticed them. Channels stuck on are much more obvious.

What network speed are you running them at?
 

coobyking

New elf
Joined
May 19, 2011
Messages
20
Location
toowoomba
i think it maybe a control board issue now
while they were still daisy chained turned one board on at a time, when all on started to play up so turned them off one at a time, when i turn off board 2 problem goes away, back on again plays up straight away.
will check connections first, it is not a big deal if i cant use board 2 it only had a couple of lights working on it
 

coobyking

New elf
Joined
May 19, 2011
Messages
20
Location
toowoomba
looks like a problem with rj45 sockets on board,
made up a couple of cat 5 cables and re-routed so board was last in daisy chain and no problems
 
Top