Computer fan question?

Jayxdallis

New elf
Generous elf
Joined
Nov 15, 2019
Messages
10
Location
Hervey bay
Can I configure a 5v 3wire computer fan to turn on only when load is Applied to the controller? i.e when on idle fan off and show start fan on?
 

Katekate

Full time elf
Joined
Jan 1, 2020
Messages
120
Location
Portland, Vic
depends what controller you have.

i just wire mine direct to the PSU though, its not like they draw any significant power.
 

lithgowlights

Senior elf
Generous elf
Joined
May 6, 2010
Messages
958
Location
Lithgow, NSW
The falcon F16 V3 can turn a fan on and off depending on temperature of the board as well - I usually have 1 on direct to the PSU and a second fan controlled by the F16 in heavily loaded boxes
 

Jayxdallis

New elf
Generous elf
Joined
Nov 15, 2019
Messages
10
Location
Hervey bay
Thanks I should have mentioned I'm using Allan's HE123 Board, Its not so much for power draw but for noise and longevity as my controller will be switched on 24/7 for the 6 weeks I'm running the show! either that or run on a timer!
 

ChasingTraction

New elf
Joined
Dec 17, 2017
Messages
29
Location
North Brisbane
3 wire pwm tach fans are generally 12v from a computer not 5v, if you run it at 5v it will turn much slower and not make much noise anyway
 
Last edited:

AAH

I love blinky lights :)
Community project designer
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
3,605
Location
Eaglehawk
Fans should have no issue running 24/7 for years so running it the entire Chrissy season shouldn't be a problem. Providing that there's not kilowatts of power supplies to keep cool even a small fan will vent enough air to keep things cool.
 

Jayxdallis

New elf
Generous elf
Joined
Nov 15, 2019
Messages
10
Location
Hervey bay
Come to think of it I think a clock timer might work better as I’d run the FM transmitter on that as well! This way I’m not broadcasting nothing for 10hrs a day and considering the power output of the transmitter limiting its “on” status to show only times sounds better to me! Any ideas on how to do this? That or just run the whole controller on a mains timer!
 

AAH

I love blinky lights :)
Community project designer
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
3,605
Location
Eaglehawk
Come to think of it I think a clock timer might work better as I’d run the FM transmitter on that as well! This way I’m not broadcasting nothing for 10hrs a day and considering the power output of the transmitter limiting its “on” status to show only times sounds better to me! Any ideas on how to do this? That or just run the whole controller on a mains timer!
The whole thing on a mains timer is as good as anything.
 
Top