Controlling ACL Strobes

Discussion in 'Strobes - LED or Others' started by toodle_pipsky, Nov 21, 2011.

  1. toodle_pipsky

    toodle_pipsky Minister of Silly Walks

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toowoomba, Australia
    Hey guys,

    I have 3 strings of these strobes that I completed last year, but couldn't get to work with a controller (they would work fine just connecting them to 5vdc).

    So, what controllers do they work well with? Or is the trick in connecting the strings in series rather than parallel so that it works off a higher v?

    Thanks,
    Ingrid

    PS - a really big thank you to the guys who put together the assembly guides they are great, they will be really helpful in finishing the other strobes next year.
     
  2. OP
    OP
    toodle_pipsky

    toodle_pipsky Minister of Silly Walks

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toowoomba, Australia
    Hey hey, just following this up. Kinda got distracted!

    By rights I should be able to hook up a strobe to a channel on a RenC/Grinch or just a Grinch by itself - is that correct? If so, I wonder what I am doing wrong! A single LED is fine, but the strobe won't fire. Have I missed something?

    Thanks. :)
     
  3. smartalec

    smartalec Im a SmartAlec what can i say! Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,183
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    S.A.
    Find Me On:
    pin 1 = +vcc
    pin 2 = Gnd
    pin 3 =
    pin 4 = Gnd Trigger (starts strobe flashing)

    thats the way i have them hooked up.. an it works
     
  4. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    Depending on what kit you put together will determine how these are connected. I have mine with the trigger so that is one + and then two - , the 2 negative are one for power and the other is for the trigger.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    toodle_pipsky

    toodle_pipsky Minister of Silly Walks

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toowoomba, Australia
    Thanks guys, at the moment I have the 2 negative wires with one of them being the trigger.

    I'll give this a bash at lunch and see how I go. Thanks again.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    toodle_pipsky

    toodle_pipsky Minister of Silly Walks

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toowoomba, Australia
    Ugh, sometimes I just need to stop and read for second.

    Looking at the cat5 cable from the bottom of the plug, what would Pin 1 be? The first guy or the bottom one?
     
  7. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
  8. OP
    OP
    toodle_pipsky

    toodle_pipsky Minister of Silly Walks

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toowoomba, Australia
    Marvellous, even better. Thanks heaps.

    (Right, back to processing payroll - gots to get paid! :D )
     
  9. smartalec

    smartalec Im a SmartAlec what can i say! Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,183
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    S.A.
    Find Me On:
  10. OP
    OP
    toodle_pipsky

    toodle_pipsky Minister of Silly Walks

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toowoomba, Australia
    Thanks guys, got it going. Worked with Grinch only, had to remove the RenC which is no big deal.
     

Share This Page